Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Winnebago General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-31-2020, 01:45 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Transmission shifting

I have a 2015 Vista 31 with Ford V-10 and 5 speed transmission.

Have heard of an update you can install to the computer that will get a little more power but help constant downshifting. Goes from OD to drive to 3rd all the time, wish I could at least hold in drive so its not spinning 4000+ rpm all the time.

Anyone tried one?

Thanks Brian
Old 08-31-2020, 02:23 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Send a message via Yahoo to rk911
https://5startuning.com
or
https://www.bankspower.com/?gclid=Cj...IaAmSZEALw_wcB

are two you'll see mentioned on the forums. i have no experience with or interest in either.

2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 03:44 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Thanks, I actually called 5 star and sounds like they can help, $550.00
Old 08-31-2020, 05:17 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Or you could get your foot out of the carburetor (oops, fuel injectors these days) or turn off the cruise control when approaching a hill or overpass and then drive the RV up the hill or overpass and ease off on the accelerator to keep it from downshifting and jumping the RPMs way up.

That is what I did with my 2 Fords gasers, but I generally didn't drive over about 60-62mph, many times I drove between 56-58mph. Better gas mileage.
al1florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 10:37 PM   #5
Proud “No Intent” Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo64 View Post
Thanks, I actually called 5 star and sounds like they can help, $550.00
I looked at their own video (5 Star). Watched THEIR videos, and those of others.