Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2020, 06:22 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Battery Boost

I purchased a 2005 mini winnie.I am new to RVing. It has battery boost but no instructions. There are two switches. one says ENGINE under it RADIO POWER and under that HOUSE. The switch below it says ON under it BATTERY BOOST. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
bigbearguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 06:28 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

The Battery Boost switch connects the coach and chassis batteries together, use if your chassis battery has run down and won't supply enough power to start the engine.

The Radio Power switch normally should be left in the Chassis position unless you are plugged into shore power. The radio will work in Chassis position with the ignition key in ACC or RUN positions. The radio will work in House position off the coach batteries even with the ignition key out. In House position it will draw a little bit of power from the coach batteries 24 hours a day even with the radio off, causing the Coach batteries to run down faster than with the switch in the Engine position.
powercat_ras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 06:33 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Quote:
Originally Posted by powercat_ras View Post
The Battery Boost switch connects the coach and chassis batteries together, use if your chassis battery has run down and won't supply enough power to start the engine.