Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-17-2024, 10:02 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Question 1994 Adventure battery requiements

I have a 1994 Adventure 37 foot Ford v10 gas engine. I open the battery compartment under steps a find 2 12 volt batteries inline parallel connected. Is this correct for this motor home? Everything I have seen seems to indicate there should be a 12 volt chassis battery and two 6 volt inline house batteries. I am also looking for information about how the house batteries are charged. Such as from generator or shore hook up. With all that said I am sure you can tell I am new to this. So any help is greatly appreciated.
Dneal012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2024, 02:10 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

you can use two 12v Deep cycle house marine batteries in parallel in place of two 6v deep cycle batteries connected in series.
parallel connection doubles amp hour capacity while a series connection doubles voltage.

12-volt starting batteries are a shallow discharge type that delivers a high amperage burst to start a car, not a long steady electric source that deep cycle marine batteries provide.
Old 02-18-2024, 07:30 AM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

Another question

Thank you for your answer. Very helpful. Could this set up with the marine batteries also be used to start the engine? As at this location there are only these two batteries. Not a third chassis battery.
Dneal012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2024, 08:17 AM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dneal012 View Post