Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Winnebago General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-24-2021, 07:25 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

2000 Itasca Suncruiser 35U

Hi, I just purchased a new to me RV. It’s a 2000 winnebago itasca suncruiser 35U. I’m a complete newbie to rving. Have only owned travel trailers. I’ve redone the interior so it’s more updated. I was very careful not to add weight. I really just did paint, wallpaper, slip covers, peel and stick backsplash etc. anyway, now that I’ve got the interior the way I want it’s my husbands turn for the mechanics. We did run into a lot of unexpecteds. We installed all new exhaust vent fans, a new skylight, repaired and reposted the roof. We had to replace the refrigerator, windshield wiper arms, all new shocks for outside compartments and springs and baseplates for the leveling jacks were missing. We know we will need new tires. Question is, what do you think of this model? Problems you’ve encountered? We know very little about rvs but my husband is a diesel mechanic and works on semis so we have a little advantage there. Where is the inverter/ converter and can someone educate me on that?
Gloriaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 10:50 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

We have a 2002 Suncruiser 35U with a Workhorse chassis. We haven't had any major problems but had some issues with leaky hydraulic hoses to the front slide. HWH had a problem with some defective hoses in the early 2000s with them leaking around the metal ferrules where the fittings attach to the hoses. You'll know if you have a problem if you see drips of hydraulic fluid. Hopefully your's are OK. If you do have this problem, PM me.