Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-17-2021, 03:53 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

2019 Vista LX 27N A/C

Hello,

Newbie here to the motorhome world, always had smaller travel trailers. Took our rig out this weekend, ambient temperatures were a dry but high of 88F mid afternoon.

My question is how long should I expect the rig to cool down? Knowing that depends on multiple factors, just seemed to take a long time and never really caught up until early evening. Just not sure if this would be normal for a 14800 BTU A/C system in a rig of this size? There were 4 of us (me, wife, and two girls) with our two dogs. So a lot of natural heat from all of us and didn't have a lot of traffic in and out of the RV. Blinds were pulled down and any other mechanism to try and keep cool. Just wondering if this is abnormal and maybe indicative that I need to look at the AC for a possible recharge or other maintenance.

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-17-2021, 06:39 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

With the Vista 27N with single roof AC and the Vista 27N allowing a good amount of heat flow thru the sidewalls in particular on the sunny sides, the best option is to get ahead of the RV heating up. Once it heats up and the roof and sidewalls are hot the AC will keep if the inside cool if it is already cool, but the rate of heat gain is almost the same as the rate of heat removed by the single AC so it will take hours to lower the inside temp if the inside is allowed to heat up and only then the AC is fired up.

Winnebago went to 50 amp and 2 roof top ACs when they transitioned from Vista LX 27N to the Adventurer 27N to address this by creating more cooling power in the RV.