Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-13-2023, 09:07 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Can I Use This? BanffCliff 60W Foldable Solar Panel

Hello everyone!
I'm new in the Winnie Owners forum and a little confuse about all the information and option available in the solar département...
I have a Micro Minnie 2106fbs (2018) with "solar ready" wiring installed. I would like to use solar panel(s), basicly to charge my battery during the day. Just for 12V équipements, phones and tablets throught the USB port inside the RV.
Has usual I bought something without getting fully informed!!
I bouth a BanffCliff 60W portable solar panel with "smart B.I.D charging technology" saying that "It can recognize your device automatically and determine the optimal voltage for efficient and safe charging"

https://www.amazon.ca/-/fr/BanffClif.../dp/B09BC5SFQQ

1-Does anyone knows what the Smart B.I.D technology is?
2-Can I plug this panel direcly into the RV SAE port without a charge controller
3- If not can I use this one:
https://www.amazon.ca/Solar-Panels-C.../dp/B07F85CDM6

Because it says that it doen't consume power during the night !! Is it important?

Thanks for any inputs
Old 06-13-2023, 05:18 PM   #2
Site Team

Hi and Welcome,
I've never heard of this brand. And initially looking at it it seems to be made to charge a "solar generator." Normally, "solar generators" have a built in solar charge controller so because of that you need to connect a portable panel that does NOT have a solar charge controller.