Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Towing, Hitching and Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-10-2023, 02:45 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Dead TOAD Battery with 2016 Spirit 31K

Hello. I'm a newbie with 4-down towing and have a problem. My tow vehicle is a 2016 Winnebago Spirit 31K. Two years ago I towed with a dolly on a long trip and everything worked fine. But I learned that there are aspects of dolly towing I don't like.

Last summer I decided that a Roadmaster tow bar and a Demco Duo braking system would meet my needs. My TOAD is a 2013 Hond CRV AWD. I had an installer recommended by eTrailer.com to install the system. As far as I know it worked just fine last year.

I'm now on day 5 ofa 42 day trip in the Northeast and am experiencing some problems.

The battery of the Toad is being fully discharged while towing. In addition, I cannot get 12 volts to the passenger side brake lights. I have 12 volts to the electrical plug at the front bumper of the car, but no further. Consequently, I have no brake light on the passenger side of the TOAD. I don't know if the two problems are related.

Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
Siman00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2023, 03:11 PM   #2
Just Trying to Help

Siman00-

Do you have a voltmeter or 12-volt test light that you can use to test the signals on the coach and toad? If so, start at the coach hitch connector. Disconnect the umbilical and test the pins on the hitch connector for the correct signals. This diagram shows which signal should be on which pin.
l1v3fr33ord1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2023, 06:03 PM   #3
Winnebago Master