Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2012, 07:56 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
speakers not working

I replaced the TV in my 2003 Adventurer 35U with a phillips LCD. I removed the VCR at that time. I connected my DVD player directly to the TV bypassing the TV control center. There was a 15amp high quality noise suppressor isolation transformer NS20 connected to the audio out jacks of the old TV. The new TV only had the single orange digital audio out jack so I tried connecting the NS20 to the audio out jacks of the dvd. But I had no sound from the speakers when using the dvd.
I then found my in dash radio M9900 had no power. I was already planning to replace that with a M3300 so I went ahead and did that. I had no power to the new unit either. I tried connecting it directly to the battery and it powered up but I have no sound through the speakers with the switch to radio either.
I know the radio problems have to be connected with the TV replacement but I am totally lost as to what to try next. Everything worked fine before. Appreciate any advice.
Jenny Allen
jkallen1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:13 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
1ciderdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 478
Welcome to the forum.
On my Journey there are two switches that must be in the correct position for the RV speakers to work. One is in the compartment next to TV and the switch is marked TV/Radio and it has to be in the TV position. There is another rocker switch on the dash and that is labeled something like aux radio power. That one needs to be in the aux position. I don't know if yours has the same stitches but if it does you can try that.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:46 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
I have those switches too. Unfortunately I've tried them in every combination. But thank you anyway.
jkallen1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
I have a 2002 Itasca 35 U and replaced my original TV with a 32" VIZIO and am having the same problem. All I replaced was the TV and removed the 15 amp high noise suppressor. The surround sound was working fine before I changed it. Switches are in the correct position. I hooked up the audio cables as with the old TV. I can't figure out what I'm missing.
nsjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 04:46 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Duncan, Okla
Posts: 56
Did you remove and reinstall what they call the wart when you replaced the tv....its inside the old tv and attached to the speakers ....with outlets that you plug into...
__________________
02 UA

Malibu Toad
Okie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 06:26 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oh.
Posts: 317
Scroll down to my earlier thread titled "this may save you money and time" which I posted a few weeks ago. Read the thread and perhaps this could be your problem. Your experience sounds like what happened to me. Feel free to PM me if you need more info. Good luck.
fun time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:40 AM   #7
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
I pluged in the the red and white audio cables with and without the 15 amp and that didn't work. I also tried the same thing with the red,white and yellow cables and that didn't work either. I didn't think to take the old TV apart (I'm not a TV repairman as you can tell) because the Vizio had what appears to be the same hookups available, the audio (red and white) and the component cables red,white and yellow).
nsjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:01 AM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
BBBEEBOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sayre,PA USA
Posts: 176
Your new TV probably needed to have a variable audio output, in order for you to use the current Winny Surround Sound. If not you will have to take the back off the TV and wire the Wart to the speakers. There are other articles out there on this issue.
__________________
Bob, Laurie & Missy
2013 Itasca Cambria 27K
BBBEEBOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:14 PM   #9
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks for all the input/responses. The "wart" I have is about the size of "D" battery and won't fit inside my TV. The only input to the TV I have is the cable. Everything else is output to the DVD/VCR. I do have a PC audio output but don't know/where/what to plug it in to. The "distribution" box info I have doesn't help.
nsjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:42 PM   #10
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
I can't/don't know how to get to your thread nor do I know how to "pm" you.
nsjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 08:25 AM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
BBBEEBOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sayre,PA USA
Posts: 176
Check out this thread on IRV2
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f101/fron...ong-97514.html
__________________
Bob, Laurie & Missy
2013 Itasca Cambria 27K
BBBEEBOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:14 PM   #12
Winnebago Camper
 
krautkamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 37
To make this work properly, as mentioned above, it's best that your new TV have variable line outputs. They are RCA plugs that are red and white. Before selecting a TV look at the specs and confirm this. I just upgraded mine and out of 12 potential candidates, there were only 3-4 that had this. On my old one (2001), I didnt have the "wart". The old RCA that I removed had line out RCA jacks already so it was quite simple. The only other way to get variable output is from the speaker itself which on the new LCD or LED TV's is not very easy...
__________________
Bryan
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 35U, F53, V-10, Trimetric batt monitor, Scangauge II, 5 Star Tune, TST 507 TPMS
krautkamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:32 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Farmington NM
Posts: 21
Mine needed a Opital Audio Cable that is more like a very thin wire with a funck very small square plug that goes from Optical auido ""out" on the TV to Optical audio "in" on the entertainment surround sound system
chief02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:46 PM   #14
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
If you tv has a headphone jack buy a cable that plus into it and y's off to rca and a couple of rca unions and problem solved.
NO1RAINH20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add speakers to outside entertainment radio Dsouthw524 Tech | Toys and Gear 10 08-01-2007 02:36 AM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat General Maintenance and Repair 6 06-08-2006 04:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.