Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2013, 08:02 PM   #1
Winnebago Master
 
Finhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa and Las Vegas, Nv for the Winter
Posts: 563
Angry King Dome

I can not understand why Winnibago would put something like that on our Motorhomes. For the past 15 minutes I have listened to that thing grind. No picture, no Nothing. I'm disgusted!!!! I called their customer service and the individual sugested that I clean the dome with Rainex. B/S! For the cost of that thing it should work.
I had a Wingard on my last rig. Push a button, wait a bit and there is a great picture. Something is wrong with this concept!!!!!
Can anyone enlighten me????
__________________
2012 Itasca Meridian 42E, Roadmaster Tow System, Unified Brakes on Toad
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. US Army Armor. Ret
Finhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:05 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 60
Lots can be wrong. I've had better luck with King Controls than Winegard.
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:07 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 139
My King Dome in-motion unit has worked OK for 5 years. Have you set the the location area info into your controller?

I do not know about the King Dome, but many computer controlled electronics on RVs can be "Rebooted" by disconnecting the power for 10 minutes.
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:09 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
smlranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 2,170
One of my happiest days with our previous coach was the day I pushed the Kingdome off the roof and installed the Winegard Trav'ler.

The coach we just got has a TracVision dome and while it works as advertised, it does not provide HD with Direct and last evening in a steady rain we lost all signal. So, the first project when we get back home with this coach is to jettison the TracVision and install a Trav'ler.
__________________
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:43 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
slick60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Smyrna
Posts: 55
Just one thought. If you are using Direct they are notorious about turing off your receiver if you have not used it in a few weeks. I think the cut off is during the first 10 days of the month.
__________________
Life's a Journey Enjoy the Ride. Had a 39 ft. Journey now I have a 24 ft short Fuse.
slick60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:20 AM   #6
Winnebago Owner
 
Five2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 71
I.ve used my Kingdome over 3 years with no issues using Bell, Direct, and now Dish. I have never made a special trip onto the roof to clean the cover.
My guess is something is incorrect with the programming and a call to their support would quickly solve your issue.

Heres the setup manual
http://www.kingcontrols.com/userfile...2012-14-09.pdf

Heres their support #
800- 982-9920

Leave a message and they will call you back quickly.
Five2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:15 PM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
Finhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa and Las Vegas, Nv for the Winter
Posts: 563
I finally got it working last nite.Today we moved 340 miles and no TV. After trying for an hour, I gave up.
__________________
2012 Itasca Meridian 42E, Roadmaster Tow System, Unified Brakes on Toad
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. US Army Armor. Ret
Finhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 04:04 AM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
If you pull the cover on any of the 'dome' type dishes you'll find the actual antenna/dish to be extremely small.. overall surface smaller than a dinner plate. It doesn't take much of an obstruction to cause signal loss. I'm with smlranger, unless you need in-motion satellite, Trav'ler wins, hands down - even through moderate tree and cloud obstructions.

Meanwhile, a dealer can plug into your dish and ensure it's calibrated properly.
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 04:47 AM   #9
Winnebago Owner
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finhawk View Post
I finally got it working last nite.Today we moved 340 miles and no TV. After trying for an hour, I gave up.
Do you have a computer and can you get online? If so, go to your account and try to re-set your recievers. This works for me when there is a problem with my direct tv. Or the other option is to call them and see what the problem is and if your system is active. Good luck
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:02 AM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
The original poster is complaining about the dish "hunting" for satellites. This has nothing to do with whether or not the DirecTV receiver is authorized.
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:18 AM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
ChiefJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by smlranger View Post
One of my happiest days with our previous coach was the day I pushed the Kingdome off the roof and installed the Winegard Trav'ler.

The coach we just got has a TracVision dome and while it works as advertised, it does not provide HD with Direct and last evening in a steady rain we lost all signal. So, the first project when we get back home with this coach is to jettison the TracVision and install a Trav'ler.
Ditto my friend! We'll never have another dome antenna!!
__________________
John & Marilyn Yoder, Sophie & Misha (Bichons)
2008 Vectra 40TD, WIT-151980 FMCA F265880
ChiefJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:21 AM   #12
Winnebago Master
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 693
I believe there is a procedure to set the initial elevation search position.

Double check the coax going from the receiver to the wall plate. Mine came loose one time and drove me crazy, I kept checking connections at receiver, which were fine.
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (12 Yrs Old) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 04:23 PM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94-Newmar View Post
The original poster is complaining about the dish "hunting" for satellites. This has nothing to do with whether or not the DirecTV receiver is authorized.
Beg to differ, Mine was also hunting and going around and around and I got online and reset my reciever and volala , it came on. If your reciever is not able to communicate with the dish.........No TV
One more thought, if your reciever is put to sleep by direct tv over the winter what happens if you try to turn your dish on........nothing.
When I called not to long ago to have them turn on my 2 recievers the living room came right in(dome on) but the one in the bedroom did not come up and display tv, so online I went and reset the reciever and it started working. I also tryed just to unplug it for a bit but that did not work.
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:04 PM   #14
Winnebago Master
 
Finhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa and Las Vegas, Nv for the Winter
Posts: 563
Just to clarify things, mine finally worked -----after messing with it-----Thursday nite. Friday we moved 250 miles and no service. Resetting the receiver does not work. I tried to set it up using the King instructions today at least 6 times. Still doesn't work!!!! Possibly a 12lb sledge would be in order
__________________
2012 Itasca Meridian 42E, Roadmaster Tow System, Unified Brakes on Toad
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. US Army Armor. Ret
Finhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
King Dome almost turned into a flying missle today John_Canfield Tech | Toys and Gear 11 05-31-2008 12:44 PM
Opinions Please: Winegard & King Dome Pubtym Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 10 08-20-2007 06:17 PM
King Dome spray really works; bedroom slide leak update John_Canfield Tech | Toys and Gear 23 05-29-2006 03:31 PM
XM radio; dual LNB kit installed for King Dome John_Canfield Tech | Toys and Gear 10 03-01-2006 02:34 PM
King Dome Problem??? smlranger Tech | Toys and Gear 7 08-29-2005 04:14 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.