Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Tech | Toys and Gear
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-26-2023, 04:40 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

New GPS for old View.

I have been using an old Magellan gps since I bought my 2009 Winnebago View in 2018. Am thinking of buying a new Garmin 795 before this Camping season. My question is, do I really need to spend the extra $200 for the RV version? I am not great with technology and need something very simple to operate. I do need something which will allow hands free calling, but am not interested in a dash cam. I am unlikely to travel far beyond Eastern Canada this summer, may not even leave Ontario. I usually drive on main roads, and am very comfortable turning my RV around if I need to. I shall be 80 in July, so not sure how much longer I am going to be camping by myself. Also the reason I don’t want to spend more than I really need to!
Any advice appreciated.
Katy2
Katy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 08:03 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

WE had an old Garmin that just got TOO old for practical as it was small.
But our search for a new one was a reall letdown as none seemed to do what we wanted. We did not want an Rv specifc one as we stay on highways or at least know before we go off the main.
We tried several newer Garmin and found most were not what we wanted until we got to a Drive Smart 65.
It has a large enough screen and mostly does okay with what we use. It also has connection for cell but we have that on the car, so do not use that feature.
I tend to like simple stand alone if we can get it. Certainly not build in the dash as electronics change way faster than we change cars!

But once we got the bugs figured out, it works for what we want but with complaints!