Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-11-2020, 07:36 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Question RV in the snow

First time RV owner, driving a Minnie Winnie 31K. Considering taking it for skiing and winter camping in Washington State. I have plenty of car driving experience in snow, but no RV experience.

What is the level of difficult of driving a Class C of this size in snow? I was assuming I would have chains.

Also wondering, how many use an RV skirt for winter camping? I assumed it was a must but when I looked at pictures at the ski area, no one seemed to have them. Do you winterize and just not shower / bring your own water?

TIA
RVHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 08:01 PM   #2
Site Team

Hi RV Hawk,
I would recommend these three things:
  1. Have a Detroit Locker installed in the differential.
  2. Get six All Terrain tires.
  3. Install Black & Grey Tank Heaters.
Welcome to the Forum.
Eagle5
Old 11-11-2020, 09:49 PM   #3
Site Team

Hi again RV Hawk,
I now have a little more time now to comment. Skirts are not needed, and the Black & Grey Tank Heaters are installed on many of the Minnie Winnies. Hopefully, yours came with this feature. I use both a Detroit Locker and Mickey Thomson All Terrains on my F-350 truck, and the combination is fantastic. Remember if you upgrade a Minnie Winnie to add front drive with the transfer case, etc., you really move from 2 wheels driving to 3 wheels driving (one rear dual and one front). With a Detroit Locker, both sets of dual wheels always spin (4 wheels driving.)
Tire Recommendation: MICKEY THOMPSON BAJA ATZP3
Thanks, Eagle5
Old 11-12-2020, 07:11 PM   #4
Winnebago Watcher

Thank you Eagle5!!
RVHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2020, 11:53 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise