Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-20-2022, 05:59 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Troubleshooting Stalls 2001 Adventurer 35U

Our 2001 Adventurer 35U cranks fine but surges a little. Then after I rev the gas pedal...the rpm drops out and the engine stalls. Fuel filter? Pump? Fuel lines? Gas/ it's been sitting for 3 months. I realize now that that is not good. These vehicles are made to be used... I'm not a mechanic. We have a beach trip in 2 weeks.
MB1811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2022, 12:07 AM   #2
Site Team

I would recommend doing these three things first:
  1. Check under the hood for rodent damage to the wiring.
  2. Get a code reader or get it to an auto parts store and read the error code(s).
  3. If no code is present, then replace the fuel filter.
After this, I would get it to a mechanic.
Good luck; Eagle5
Old 08-21-2022, 09:27 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

I'm no expert but two easy things are a leaking or disconnected vacuum line and, as you suggest, the fuel filter. I'm with Eagle5 on getting to a mechanic after checking the simple things. Whatever you do, don't take it to an RV dealer, find a good, independent, truck repair shop.

It will help future responders to know that, according to the brochure, the 2001 Adventurer 35U came only with a Ford 6.8 Triton V-10 chassis. Later models came with an optional Workhorse chassis.