Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2015, 04:51 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: clearfield, utah
Posts: 75
Shore Power

Hooked up to a 30amp service - I could not find any 120 voltage in the coach. Am I doing something wrong? Did I not turn the correct switch - scratching my head trying to figure this one out.
__________________
2014 Itasca Meridian 34B
46490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 05:01 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
jones47172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Posts: 8
On my 2015 Thor Palazzo everything lights up inside after plugging in without flipping any switch in the coach. However, I have forgotten to flip the breaker on outside at the pedestal
__________________
Mike & Sue Jones
Venetian A40, formally Palazzo 35.1
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S
jones47172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 05:19 PM   #3
KIX
Winnebago Master
 
KIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by 46490 View Post
Hooked up to a 30amp service - I could not find any 120 voltage in the coach. Am I doing something wrong? Did I not turn the correct switch - scratching my head trying to figure this one out.
Did you test the receptacle you plugged into?
Do you have a surge guard that may have a time delay?
Do you have 120v using the generator?
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 05:22 PM   #4
srh
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
The 30 amp IS 120 v. I don't believe there is a switch in the coach for what you are looking for. If you want to connect the 30 amp plug into a 20 amp/120 all you have to do is get an adapter plug from 30 amp to 20 amp. You should be able to find that in a hardware store, Lowes, Menards...
I hope this helps!
__________________
srh
srh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 06:56 PM   #5
GG1
Winnie-Wise
 
GG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WHITING,NJ,USA
Posts: 465
Are you testing the outlets for the correct voltage or can you not work 120 v electrical equipment
__________________
07 Itasca Ellipse 40fd, 2014 Honda CRV, greyhound lab mix, pit pointer mix(RIP bessie) , shar pei mix, stupid cat, wife
GG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 09:02 PM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
skigramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HOME: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 962
first task ... figure out whether the problem is inside or outside of your coach.

A) Unplug from the pedestal ... start the genset ... do you have power inside the coach at outlets YES: [problem outside] NO [problem inside]

INSIDE: check GFI ... did you push them in all the way

OUTSIDE: make sure the pedestal circuit breaker for 30 amp is on.
check the tabs on your plug ... they may need to be cleaned with steel wool or the roughest cloth you can find in your rig
use your voltmeter to check the viablility of the pedestal outlet ... (if you don't have a meter, ask the campground staff)

There is one more possibility ... your ATS (automatic transfer switch) ... but you probably can't check that yourself ...
__________________
2012 Buick Enclave
Present At home Home: Oshkosh, WI

former owner 2004 Winnebago Journey 39W
skigramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 09:24 PM   #7
Winnie-Wise
 
Rossi6998's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by skigramp View Post
first task ... figure out whether the problem is inside or outside of your coach.

A) Unplug from the pedestal ... start the genset ... do you have power inside the coach at outlets YES: [problem outside] NO [problem inside]

INSIDE: check GFI ... did you push them in all the way

OUTSIDE: make sure the pedestal circuit breaker for 30 amp is on.
check the tabs on your plug ... they may need to be cleaned with steel wool or the roughest cloth you can find in your rig
use your voltmeter to check the viablility of the pedestal outlet ... (if you don't have a meter, ask the campground staff)

There is one more possibility ... your ATS (automatic transfer switch) ... but you probably can't check that yourself ...
Nice start... Very logical IMHO.
Rossi6998 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 06:50 AM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: clearfield, utah
Posts: 75
Thanks for all of the advice. I did step down from 50 - 30-20(120) house outlet. Not all of the outlets are GFI and my 30 amp dogbone has a light built in to show that it is working. The coach is at the dealer now and hopefully the problem was me and not the coach.
__________________
2014 Itasca Meridian 34B
46490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 10:27 PM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
skigramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HOME: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 962
I have a "sister" rig ... I have two GFIs (both in the bathroom area) one on the driver's side of the coach and one on the passenger side ... BUT ALL of the outlets are DOWNSTREAM from those two GFIs

I am quite sure that your coach has similar circuits
__________________
2012 Buick Enclave
Present At home Home: Oshkosh, WI

former owner 2004 Winnebago Journey 39W
skigramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 07:34 AM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 851
Test 1: Look at the circuit breaker in the pedistal.. On or OFF. if it's off read no farther.

Test 2: you will need some test gear for this, a 15 amp to 30 amp PUCK type adapter (You can use a dogbone type but the puck type is easier) and a plug in volt meter adn 3-lampe tester or ...... A Progressive Industries PT-30C surge protector (Replaces all the above).

NOTE< PT-30c is recommended, but the other stuff is less expensive
NOTE: a Kill-a-watt is about 1,000 worth of meters in a $20.00 box (That is it costs you less than 20 bucks on sale).

Plug in and measure voltage, 120 volts good, 0.00 notifiy management (After double checking the idiot breaker).

Plug in 3 lamp tester (Advantage Kill-a-watt pass through outlet so you can plug in both at once) Two green and no red lights, (NOTE: color of lamps depends on make and model somewhat, But RED is usually the one you do not wish to see) GOOD,, RED light, notify management.

(The pattern will be on the label, Some I have are two amber some green, all the ones Ive had the red light is the bad one).

OK, next step.. Involves a test lamp or volt meter (I like test lamps) and tracing the power INSIDE the RV. But let's save that for round 2.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 01:36 PM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: clearfield, utah
Posts: 75
Update - Coach is back from dealer and shore power worked fine at the dealer. It did not work at my house however. So after some exploring I figured out that the house outlet was reversed wired (polarity) must have happened when we had new siding installed. I corrected the outlet problem and all is good!!!!! Thanks for all of the helpful tips from everyone.
__________________
2014 Itasca Meridian 34B
46490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:35 PM   #12
Winnie-Wise
 
rvten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crossville, TN USA
Posts: 397
Pays to have an outlet tester.
Or some brand of surge protection. Tells you of a hook up problem.
__________________
Tom & Bonnie
2008 Winnebago Aspect 29H
A Class C Not a B+
2010 Ford Flex
rvten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no power unless hooked to shore power ken551 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 06-21-2012 05:55 PM
No power in house when off shore power. Batteries good. wbezemek Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 01-04-2012 07:16 PM
15amp shore power JudyandJim Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 20 09-03-2006 05:30 PM
How To Keep Engine Battery Charged While on Shore Power FLYTYER Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 15 06-18-2006 05:09 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.