Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2015, 09:36 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Inverter Question

The GF and I both use CPAP machines at night. How can I determine if the 1000 watt inverter in the new MH will provide adequate power for both units, and for how long, without depleting the house batteries?

Yeah, I'm a newb
mtnfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:41 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnfan View Post
The GF and I both use CPAP machines at night. How can I determine if the 1000 watt inverter in the new MH will provide adequate power for both units, and for how long, without depleting the house batteries?

Yeah, I'm a newb
You need to know the power requirements of both units and the total amp
hours of your battery system.
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:58 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Some of the CPAP machines have DC power in. If you do, it would be better to run off that. You still need to know the power draw as stated above to answer your question.
Todd157k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 10:32 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner

Almost everything electric powered has a watt rating somewhere on it.

If you find it, double that number for two. That's the minimum watt inverter you need. Add about 25% for insurance.

Now the watts you are using, plus 10%, can be converted into amps. Watts / Volts = Amps

Knowing the amps it is using, you add up the hours it will be running to get AH (amp hours).

Next is to find out how many amp hours your battery bank has. Take that number and cut it in half, so you only use half of your capacity, and not damage your batteries.

You also need to factor in everything else, using power while you are sleeping, and any power you used, since fully charging them.