Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2015, 01:22 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 33
Replacing RG59 cables

Any words of wisdom before I attempt to run new cables for the batwing antenna. Also need new cables for Sat. dish "Wineguard Traveler"

I have checked the cables with a dedicated tester and found them lacking but I could have known just by looking. Can they just be disconnected and pulled out, pulling a new cable through at the same time?

Thanks for any advice.
__________________
Roy & Lois
2005 Itasca Horizon 40KD ISL 400 Freightliner
Towing 2012 Chrysler Town & Country with Remco pump and Air Force One brakes.
royinflorida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 01:38 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
Skip426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 339
I'd say examine both the original and replacement cables, for crimp on connectors ( common on the 59 ) that could pull off the cable under any amount of tension, wrap the barrel connection with tape to prevent the corners snagging, and cross your fingers that the cable was just laid in place rather than secured with zip ties or cable clamps.


On an aside ; I'd like to ask a question regarding the operation of the Remco pump on your 2012 mini van. ( 6spd automatic?) I read another post where a member was having trouble with the alarm ; for low pressure ; going off after 3+ hrs of driving. I 'm considering one of these vans for my next toad and wonder if that could be a common problem?
I often drive for 4>5 hrs. non-stop and have never had any such issue with my current set up.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 05:08 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,408
First use RG6. Install the connectors after you pull the cables. Strip the end of the new and old cables back to the center conductor and twist them together then put on some electrical tape. Keep the overall diameter of the splice as small as possible. Get some wire pulling lube at Lowes for the tight spots.
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 06:14 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 35
Don't be surprised if you find you can't pull the old cables through. Many cables are stapled or otherwise secured in the ceiling when the coach was built.
__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 05:10 AM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 33
Skip423

Thanks for the advice. My pump works just fine, now in it's third year.
I was told that the issue you describe was from having too much fluid in the transmission. The van doesn't have a dipstick, they have to order one, then Remco has a very specific chart to fill the transmission for any given temperature.
__________________
Roy & Lois
2005 Itasca Horizon 40KD ISL 400 Freightliner
Towing 2012 Chrysler Town & Country with Remco pump and Air Force One brakes.
royinflorida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 07:57 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
David K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 337
I was told by Winnebago that the cables in my coach were stapled in place or wire tied where staples could not be used. You may want to talk to someone at Winny first to see how your cables were installed in the foam insulation that they run through.
__________________
Dave and Karen -- '02 Ultimate Advantage 36 C, 350 HP Cummins, Allison 3060 Tranny
'13 Ford Edge, InvisiBrake
David K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 11:32 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: clearfield, utah
Posts: 75
Also remember to remove the plastic film from the copper stinger (it's the only copper in the RG cable) and no 90 degree bends. They also make RG6 for outdoor use as well as inside. The outside use has an additional steel wire attached to the outside of the cable so that it can be tied off to a house and or pole. It also has some weather proofing inside to prevent loss of signal due to weathering. Any cable company can explain the differences to you.
__________________
2014 Itasca Meridian 34B
46490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 06:37 PM   #8
Winnebago Master
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 851
Sadly the answer is "Your millage may vary"

Some times the cables are stapled inside the walls and no way can you pull the old one out

Sometimes (nearly always)there is a bulkhead connector in or near the roof.. Sometimes that is not easy to get at.

Sometimes they pull out easily

Suggestion: Replace all cables with quality RG-6 It is a bit larger in diamater.. But you will see less signal loss in the line.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 05:03 PM   #9
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by royinflorida View Post
Any words of wisdom before I attempt to run new cables for the batwing antenna. Also need new cables for Sat. dish "Wineguard Traveler"

I have checked the cables with a dedicated tester and found them lacking but I could have known just by looking. Can they just be disconnected and pulled out, pulling a new cable through at the same time?

Thanks for any advice.
Definitely replace the batwing feed and use RG-6 for the feed to the Travler. I ran them together on the roof to a new penetration above the tech cabinet in the front. I reused the RG-59 from the front cabinet to the rear TV after replacing all connectors including intermediate connections above the slide and inside the wall jack. I found the connectors were of poor quality and poorly installed to boot. The entire system is now working great.
Ajwrape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 11:05 AM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 895
T least as far back as 2004 Winnebago was using RG6 cable for the satellite feeds. It may be bad but it is RG6 and in 2004 was a good quality brand.
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 12:07 AM   #11
Winnebago Master
 
SCVJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Clarita, CA.
Posts: 1,217
I've seen the same lousy connectors on all the RG6 in the coach and have replaced most
__________________
_______________________________

Jeff - WA6EQU
'06 Itasca Meridian 34H, CAT C7/350
SCVJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coax Cables captgadget Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 8 11-20-2011 03:39 PM
Cables Required for HDTV conversion??? RickO Tech | Toys and Gear 18 11-30-2007 01:03 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×