Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2024, 06:50 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
No 120v Power 2016 Via 25T

I have a 2016 Via 25T and I can't get any 120 power with either the generator or shore plug in. I am thinking the transfer switch but don't know where it is any ideas?
Rudy Rathert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 08:00 AM   #2
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 7,890
Check to verify if it is ALL or only part failed? No microwave lights? No power to outlet? Will do a check and be back ASAP!
__________________
Richard
Why no RV year, make and floorplan on MY signature as we suggest for others?
I currently DO NOT have one!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 08:09 AM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 7,890
Whoops? I assume this might be anew to you RV?
I see no transfer switch but what we sometimes call a "manual switch! The cord which plugs to shore power has to be plugged to an outlet on the RV and then the generator feeds the RV!
Big plug likely in the same compartment where cord is found?
__________________
Richard
Why no RV year, make and floorplan on MY signature as we suggest for others?
I currently DO NOT have one!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 08:16 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 7,890
Your 110AC layout shows the cord and outlet. I also marked the main breaker to check if ALL is out.
If finding just some out, there is a GFCI which is a common thing to click off and need reset!
Good luck and let us know if that solved it?
Click this snip for best view!
Click image for larger version

Name:	120 pow.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	98.3 KB
ID:	189055
__________________
Richard
Why no RV year, make and floorplan on MY signature as we suggest for others?
I currently DO NOT have one!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 05:17 AM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
it is a 2016 via the plug is hooked up no lights no microwave, does the gfi need electricity coming to rest? seems like I can't hear either one of them reset Rudy
Rudy Rathert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 06:35 AM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 7,890
Yes, the GFCI has to have power before rest!
Some things to check are that the outlet where plugged has power? Is there a breaker there that needs turned on?
when you say no lights, do you mean no inside lights or no lights on the microwave?
The microwave light only uses 110 power but the inside ceiling lights are 12volt and work off the battery!
For now, turn the inverter off ot make sure it is not running the batteries down!
If the batteries are down, can you start the Generator? If it starts, then you can try plugging the cord into the generator outlet box.

If you can't do the generator, try starting the RV engine. That is a different battery and should start okay. When it is running, the two batteries will be connected together and that will let the inside lights and RV things start to work when they get power from the engine alternator.
If you find things work when the engine is running, it may be that the coach batteries are run down. One way this can happen is if the inverter is left on and no 110AC power is going to the m to keep them charge while the inverter is using lots of their power.
When plugged to power, it is best to turn the inverter off.
Do you have a way to test voltage?
V
__________________
Richard
Why no RV year, make and floorplan on MY signature as we suggest for others?
I currently DO NOT have one!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 08:50 AM   #7
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
all 12volt lights work just the 120 that I don't have. generator runs no 120 power when I plug in to shore power or generator still think there must be a transfer switch somewhere I able to run the television with the inverter Rudy
Rudy Rathert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 09:04 AM   #8
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 8,016
First place to look is the Operator's Manual. And guess what, in the electrical section 6-6 you'll find that you don't have an automatic transfer switch. You have to manually plug and unplug both the shore power cable and the generator cable into a generator power inlet.

That may not be the issue but it's a place to start.

If you have an inverter (it was an option on some 2016 Via's) check to ensure the GFCI hasn't popped on the side of the inverter. I'm not sure but it's possible that could be the cause because all 120v passes through the inverter, even when it's not inverting.

Here's a screen shot of the setup on your 2016 Via:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2024-05-27 at 10.01.38 AM.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	192.7 KB
ID:	189061  
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 10:39 AM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
As I said no power I can't get either GFCI to reset Rudy
Rudy Rathert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 12:13 PM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 7,890
Yes, the answer now is still the same as it was four hours ago when you first asked!
If the whole RV is out of 120 AC, there is no point in considering the GFCI nor the inverter as they are only a small part of the whole.

If none of the items on the right side of the drawing work, there is little reason to worry about fixing anything on the left side!

If there is no power coming OUT of the cord, I would first check there is power going INTO the cord!
__________________
Richard
Why no RV year, make and floorplan on MY signature as we suggest for others?
I currently DO NOT have one!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 05:09 PM   #11
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
Got it! I was not aware that all 120 went thru the inverter the GFCI on the inverter was bad fix it now everything works as it should. Thanks ever body!
Rudy Rathert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 06:01 PM   #12
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 7,890
Well?

A lot of folks would not think you could do that much on a 15 amp breaker feeding a 1000 watt inverter!
But having an Air conditioner with a GFCI in the line is kind of special, too!
__________________
Richard
Why no RV year, make and floorplan on MY signature as we suggest for others?
I currently DO NOT have one!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - No 120 volt to outlets Kelm130 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 10 01-27-2017 03:36 PM
GE Profile Avntium 120 removal HD4Mark General Maintenance and Repair 17 12-15-2012 05:08 AM
O4 Sunrise slide 120 outlet problem Dsouthw524 General Maintenance and Repair 12 03-26-2011 10:35 AM
120 volt receptacle problem stormincb Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 20 07-07-2009 01:00 PM
No 120 30amp shore power after accidental generator start yankinva Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 07-23-2008 02:56 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.