Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Welcome Mat
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-01-2024, 07:55 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

New to the Forum with 2001 Chieftain 36W

Always nice to find another community, expands everyones' resources. I have a 2001 Chieftain 36w, high mileage but well cared for and very comfortable. I am a retired mechanic, and do much of my own stuff. Got this old girl to replace a 2003 Damon Challenger 348 that was taken from us by Hurrricane Ian.
Old 05-01-2024, 11:04 PM   #2
Site Team

Greetings Zigzag03,
She is a classic, to be sure. It is great that the 2001 Chieftain has a driver's door; something sorely missed in the newer Class As.
Brochure
Welcome to the forum.
Eagle5
Click image for larger version

Name:	UNTITLED.gif
Views:	11
Size:	452.7 KB
ID:	188863
Click image for larger version

Name:	UNTITLED2.gif
Views:	9
Size:	163.1 KB
ID:	188864
Old 05-02-2024, 01:23 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

She is indeed a pretty old lady. She's been repainted, has beautiful woodwork inside. A little rusty underside-wise, but I'm working thru it. We're very please with there. Thanks for the brochure!

Edit: i do like the drivers door, but the older I get the more difficult it is to make that step!!
Old 05-03-2024, 07:47 AM   #4
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zigzag03 View Post
i do like the drivers door, but the older I get the more difficult it is to make that step!!
I think I've only used my driver side door a couple of times the first month or so after I bought my 2002 Suncruiser. There's no way I could do it now.

Have fun.
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2024, 08:15 AM   #5
Winnebago Master

When learning a new RV, I like to look at where they put things! Are you aware of the info online?