Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Winnebago General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-15-2022, 03:20 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Replacing headlight Bulbs with LED

I am trying to improve the brightness of headlights in my 2007 Voyage 38 J

I have seen posts about LED bulbs

Does anyone know the type of headlights that are stock original on the 38J.

I believe most of these headlights on RV’s come from autos - I believe the headlights are Ford but I am not sure of the model?

I have a lighting store that tells me if they knew the original headlight type they could best match that to a comparable LED bulb. My research says that LED bulbs are most effective when the led bulb matches the filament pattern of the original bulb.

I am a rookie owner so any advice would be appreciated!!
joeyraja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 10:17 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

LED headlamp bulbs do not perform well in reflectors designed for incandescent bulbs. Look closely at your headlight lens, there will be a DOT number and a stock number. Use those to search for the source of those headlights.

reference: https://jalopnik.com/why-most-led-he...6e7fcb6a204e32
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA. "We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution." Abraham Lincoln
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 04:33 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

Replacing headlight Bulbs with LED

joeyraja,