Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-09-2021, 04:13 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Fresh Water Tank - Travel Full or Partially Full?

I'm new to RVing. I have a new Winnebago View. When I travel, should I partially fill the fresh tank (say 15-20 gal.) or the full 30 gal or 0? The first few places we are going to do provide potable water, and I plan on filtering it. But I understand that in many places the water is questionable. Is traveling with a full tank hard on the vehicle or tank? Hope this question makes sense - just want to know what most RV'ers do.
Larry A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 04:25 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

We normally start out with about 1/3 full or less, enough to flush, wash, make coffee and water the dogs. Remember water weighs 8.3 pounds per gallon, my Navion tank is 31 gal, if I was full that would be 257 pounds
Old 02-09-2021, 04:30 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Hello Larry,
I am probably not the best person to reply on this but I will. We are only in our third year as RV owners and we travel with our water tank full. I can see no difference in the ride or fuel efficiency and we are still well within the maximum load limit for the vehicle and tires. We like being able to use it like we live in it even while we are on the road. We have a class A 33v Suncruiser.
GJCruisers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 04:46 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper

Thanks for the quick reply & info.
Larry A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 04:47 PM   #5
Winnebago Watcher