Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-15-2022, 09:15 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Tv upgrade on 2005 Vectra 40FD

Hello! I am new to this Motorhome world and was following advice on upgrading the tv in the living room in our 2005 Vectra 40FD. I was able to remove the old and put the new in place without too much trouble….that sucker was heavy!!
The problem I am having is with the sound. I reconnected everything as it was but can only raise and lower the sound on the tv speaker not on the built in system.

I am also looking for advice on how to get the power on the the lower compartment DVD player. I have power to the tv but the dvd is dead.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
200540FD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2022, 03:24 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Your surround sound system (River Park) is a fixed output amplifier. It is dependent upon the TV (or radio) to adjust the sound up and down. The problem is that your TV is sending a fixed sound level out to the surround. You didn't say how you hooked up the sound, but I suspect you just plugged the red/white RCA plugs into the back of your TV.

By default most TVs have fixed level sound out of those jacks, because they are assuming you are sending the sound to a separate system that has it's own volume control, which ours doesn't.

There are 3 fixes for this (increasing level of difficulty)...

1) Check your TV setup menu for the sound options, and see if you can change the sound ouput from "fixed" to "variable". Some TVs have this feature, some don't.