Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-04-2020, 10:11 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Question No 12V DC or battery charge from generator

I'm new to this, just got this 2003 Journey, and sorting things out. When I run the generator it doesn't supply the DC circuits and doesn't charge the house batteries. The batteries are probably about gone anyway, and I'm wondering whether tat could be the problem. Could the AC to DC converter sense the battery condition and disable the whole DC output? Or am I just missing a switch or fuse somewhere? I'd like to resolve this before getting new batteries so that I don't kill them by draining them.

TIA, Dan
DanMcC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2020, 10:29 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

https://winnebagoind.com/resources/m...3JourneyDL.pdf
Section 6 covers electrical systems.

The auto-transfer switch may be stuck or otherwise inoperative when you engage the generator.
If that isn't the case, check the inverter charger in the water/electrical bay often located driver's side. It has breakers and a power reset switch. Info and pictures on page 6-3 and 6-4.
Winterbagoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2020, 11:50 PM   #3
Proud “No Intent” Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanMcC View Post