Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-02-2023, 08:11 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Battery charging questions 2022 Minnie 2529RG

I'm new to the battery switch feature on my TT. I need some educating. If the switch is on what does it allow for? If the switch is off what does it not allow for? (ie charging, powering devices). FYI, I do have a solar panel installed as well.
Old 07-02-2023, 08:42 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

If the switch is off, it disconnects everything in the trailer running directly off your batteries. Lights, LP detector, etc. Your solar will still charge the batteries on the tongue even when that switch is off. Think of it as your storage setting.

When you are using the trailer, even on shore power or while in transit, have the switch in the on position. In transit, having the switch on powers your 12v fridge, water pump, etc....
IOS 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2023, 08:53 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Thank you for the reply.

On the tongue does the tow vehicle charge the battery along with the solar? I only ask because if for whatever reason I remove the solar panel will the battery charge. If it does charge will the switch need to be on or does it matter?

I guess the question is this. Assuming no solar charging how does the battery charge considering on/off switch. I've always assumed that the TV would charge batteries en route. However, with the switch now I'm unclear whether or not to make sure it's on or off or if it even matters. Same for shore power.
Old 07-02-2023, 09:21 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner