Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > General Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-16-2021, 09:26 PM   #1
NewbieCA

If my slide is out and the motor fails how do I retract

I am new to RVing and just purchased a 2017 Winnebago Vista 31KE. If my slide is out and the retract switch does not retract the slide for some reason, how do I get the slide to go in and stay retracted until I can get it to a shop?

Haven't had this problem yet for we are just doing our maiden voyage this coming weekend but I'm trying to get my knowledge base up to speed in case we have an emergency.
Terp71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 01:59 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Post There is small a learning curve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terp71 View Post
I am new to RVing and just purchased a 2017 Winnebago Vista 31KE. If my slide is out and the retract switch does not retract the slide for some reason, how do I get the slide to go in and stay retracted until I can get it to a shop?

Haven't had this problem yet for we are just doing our maiden voyage this coming weekend but I'm trying to get my knowledge base up to speed in case we have an emergency.
Download the correct pdf of the slide out manual for your model of trailer for starters. In my case the kitchen slide out is manufactured by lippert and I keep the original paper version of the owners manual for it and other essential how to info in the trailer.

You may have to remove two covers inside the trailer to gain adequate access to the motor drive assembly as I do with our 2016 winnie drop. I then need to disconnect the drives with standard tools. Then carefully push the slide evenly back to closed and secure it as instructed in the case of slide motor failure.