Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Towing, Hitching and Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-11-2024, 07:16 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Procedure for connecting Toad

So, I've got the Toad, Nsa ready brake, toads base plate (blueox), lighting wiring, and emergency brake away box.
Now I need to know the procedure to connect to our motorhome. I've never done it before. I have a 2024 jeep wrangler with an automatic, and 4wd, With a transfer case with a neutral position.
Do I drive up close to the MH and connect towbar, and then go into the neutral position? I'm just clear as mud on the procedure. Any help would be appreciated. No trips coming up for awhile, so I have plenty of time to practice.
Snipechief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2024, 07:39 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

I found the Info needed. Thanks anyway.
Old 04-11-2024, 07:58 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

Each toad and each tow bar will make it a bit different in some points.
So does that tow bar extend/retract at the arms? This helps as you can then pull the car up close to right, set the park brake or turn it off so it doesn't roll and then get out to connect the tow bar. Critical it not roll when you have your hands in the wrong spot!
We had Blue Ox tow bar and each arm could be pulled out to reach the connection on the car. This was important as it allowed connecting even if the car was not exactly the right distance or if one side was closer than the other.
Once the tow bar was secure to the car, we needed to let it move back until the tow bar snapped into final length. Sometimes she started it and moved it, other times she just let it roll back a bit. We tended to like a bit of upslope but not a big thing if she had to start the car to back a few inches.