Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-24-2015, 08:59 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

A/C amps

Ok, I'm an admitted newbie so I'm guessing one of you veterans will have an answer to this. I've got a 2005 Winnebago Voyage 38J with two A/C - heat pumps for HVAC. When on shore power and both units running, I pull 26 amps. However, when on generator and both units running, I'm only pulling 11 amps. My first thought was that the rear unit had tripped out and I was only running the front unit. Checked both the house and generator breakers and nothing had tripped. So I shut down both units and turned on just the rear unit. It was pulling just 3 amps, so I assumed it was just the fan blowing. However, in running it for a bit, it was blowing cold, so something was functioning. Turning the front unit back on, total amps jumped to 11, which is still way too low in my mind, but I'm getting cold air out of both units. Do I have a magical Onan or an A/C problem?
Trwolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 09:06 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

11A is low for just one AC. The 26A you saw on shore power with two running is possible. I'm guessing you have 13,500btu units?
Old 08-24-2015, 09:10 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

I'll venture to say the rear unit compressor is not working, the circulating fan is drawing 3A, and circulating cool air. If they are ducted into the same plenum it's pulling cool air from the plenum. My roof mounted air conditioners drew around 9.5A each while compressor was running, surged to around 15A at start-up. Turn off both units, wait 2 minutes then start rear unit, if it does not show an amperage surge over 10 at start-up, the compressor did not run.
It could be as simple as replacing the start and/or run capacitors, which cost <$20.