Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2019, 07:01 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Ericb760's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 48
30A or 50A for new construction?

I am building a house on a 5 acre plot of vacant land. SCE, my local electric company, is asking me what I need as far as power goes. Since my aging RV runs on 30A I was considering going with that. However, that leaves me no room to upgrade. If I go with 50A, is it safe to step that down to 30A without damaging/frying my electrical system? I'm new to this, so forgive me if this is a bonehead question. I see 50A to 30A converter cords on Amazon, I just don't know enough about them to determine if this is safe.

Thanks!
__________________
1989 Chieftain 28'
1969 S&S Yankee Dolphin 24'
Ericb760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 07:54 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: NE Florida/SE Maine
Posts: 38
Is it possible to have the electrician run both a 30A and 50A circuit to the place you are going to plug in? While the RV breaker should protect you against any current draw greater than 30A, having two 30A breakers in series, I would think, is better protection (also having an EMS like the Progressive unit, whether hard-wired or portable). As it is new construction, running a little extra wire and having an extra breaker (actually two for the 50A circuit) would seem like cheap "insurance" for the future.
__________________
TT: 2019 Minnie Winnie 2500FL, e2 WDH; former 2015 Keystone Bullet Premier 19FBPR
TV: 2012 Ford F-250 Lariat Super Duty Crew Cab (gas 6.2 L, 3.73 gear ratio 2WD, 172" WB)
SummitPond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 08:33 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
ThomB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Posts: 173
I’d run 50, you can always step it down to 30 with a dogbone adapter. That said you could do as suggested above and run one a 30 and 50 (assuming it’s pretty close to the breaker panel. - the wire can get expensive). Run it onto a box just like at most RV Parks that have both.
__________________
Thom and Diane Boles
2010 Winnebago Vista 32K with a 2013 Mini Cooper S Roadster toad.
ThomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 10:12 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
rarebear.nm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 85
Either solution will work quite well. The single 50 Amp costs less to install and the 50-30 Amp dog bone is totally safe to use.

The 30/50 Amp option is very nice and total added cost to the house is almost nothing in new construction.

I'd also consider adding a sewer and water connection while you're at it.
__________________
Fred & Denise (RVM157) New Mexico
2007 Excel Classic 30RSO & 2015 Mini Winnie 22R
2007 RAM 3500, Diesel, 6Spd Auto, SWD, 4x4, CC & LB
rarebear.nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 05:40 AM   #5
Veteran RV Owner
 
armullis59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 19
I have noticed most RV parks run a 20amp, 30amp, and 50amp to their pedestal. I assume they are all separate circuits. If you are parking the RV behind a garage or some other building, you can just have the plugs mounted to the outside wall. Yes, get some water and a sewer connection run there too. You could use your RV as a another "bedroom" for overnight guests.
__________________
Arthur & Sheila Mullis with "Cam" the Kitty
Driving 2016 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
Towing 2018 Ford Explorer 4x4 Platinum
armullis59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:07 AM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,240
Since the question is coming from your power company, whatever you do outlet-wise, include 50A in your specs to the power company and allow some extra overhead for future use. You don't want your incoming service to be undersized for now or the future.

Otherwise the advice you've received so far is good. Personally, I'd install a 50A outlet and use a dog bone adapter to 30A. I'd also investigate the cost of adding a 20A outlet so you can plug power tools in directly unless you'll have one close by.
__________________
Bob C
2002 Itasca Suncruiser 35U
W20 Chassis
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:36 AM   #7
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
The power company may (properly) select the incoming service line based on the total amperage with both the 30 + 50 amp loads. They could assume you use both at the same time. The could increase the cost of the service panel too.

Selecting only 50 amps may save some money and still allow use of 30 amps.

I just bought a home. The previous owner had a 30 amp service pedestal (DIY) installed without a ground wire so I need to get it all replaced professionally.
__________________
David & Laura
Renton, WA
2006 Sightseer 29R Special Edition
David_Laura is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30A vs 50A wdweldon Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 18 09-18-2016 09:17 AM
30A vs 50A on my 2004 Adventurer wdweldon Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 11 07-18-2016 09:11 PM
Wall Construction Detail Retired and Happy General Maintenance and Repair 9 01-20-2010 05:45 PM
Need info on early 70's construction dmerc General Maintenance and Repair 10 12-29-2008 11:52 AM
What is running on each leg of 50A service? wagonmaster2 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 23 03-01-2008 07:12 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.