Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-18-2022, 10:54 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Satellite Dishes

I am an avid researcher, especially when the "thing" I'm looking for is over $100, I know I'm a cheapskate, but I'm not rich so I RESEARCH! Have downsized from a 40' Newmar to a Winnie Forza 34T All other rigs (fivers and MHs) had a dish on the roof and they worked fine, except when in a highly wooded state park type facility, which is how we have started camping a lot more these days. So, have researched portable dishes. Have done weeks of research and read reviews on every portable dis on the market, and boiled my decision to a Dish Playmaker or Tailgater. Don't need a dual, single is fine. Will add a DVR to tape shows. Have checked prices everywhere, including Camping World and Amazon, and will probably go with the former since I get an extra 5% discount for being retired military, albeit for accessories, Amazon is cheaper.
Now I'd like to hear from someone that has either of the two and let me know your thoughts, pros, and cons. Don't want to hear about other types that would merely confuse the issue. I am going to buy one the two I mentioned, and at my ripe age (81), there won't be another one down the road LOL. Would love to hear from experience with either of them
Thank you and Semper Fi, Jim
SgtB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2022, 05:21 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Semper Fi Marine. Well you got a couple of years on me, 78 here. Ok so I have used and now have both the playmaker, mounted on the roof and a tailgater for when the playmaker is blocked.

I use a 211z receiver, but a Wally would be the way to go it’s faster in the setup process, so I’m told. I bought mine through eBay both used and works great. Even the receiver. You can also get them direct from Dish but the price is higher than anywhere I have found.