Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2012, 06:24 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 105
Winnebago Basement Air - Generator - Compressor Question on Amps???

When I start up my Onan 5500 Generator and turn on my A/C, the amp reading on my Power Manager is 14.

The set temp is 65, the cabin temp is 85.

I was under the impression that I should expect BOTH compressors to kick in, creating a demand of around 20 - 24 amps.

Could someone explain to me what is going on here?

I'm wondering if I have a problem bringing the second compressor up.
The unit IS pushing cold air and the temp is slowly dropping.

Let me know if I'm missing something.

Thanks.
__________________
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, V-10
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, 4.7L V-8 QTII
U. S. Army Vet, In God We Trust
winnie32v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:32 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
mikf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 191
just posting so I can follow your post. my 2002 adventure does the same thing, and I was told that both compressors shoud run wit the gen. so am curious to the response you get.
__________________
Mike S.E. Ohio
mikf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:47 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 135
The numbers you are expecting are correct. You are also correct in expecting your thermostat setting to activate both compressors. Have you checked breakers? That is as far as I can take you. LOL

Certainly there are other things to look for such as starting capaciters and such but hopefully someone more informed than me can take you to the next step.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Gardian for GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 10:50 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper
 
harv12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
Both of our compressors run when there is more than a 2 degree difference between the thermostat set-point and coach temperature even while on generator power. I would guess that if you were plugged into shore power and both compressors ran it would be generator issue.
A 5500 watt generator should handle up-wards of 45 amps. I would say that perhaps other things could be drawing power from the generator and some "load shedding" device may have the second stage compressor off, but you said that you were reading only 14 amps.
It could be any number of issues on the A/C side; thermostat malfunction, start capacitor, contactor, wire connections etc...typically there's a time delay between first and second stage operation, but usually only about 5 minutes.
I would start by seeing if the second compressor ran while on shore power to rule some generator issue.

Good luck and keep us updated.
__________________
Chris & Marily / Where Ever HaRV Takes Us
'07 Winnebago Vectra 40TD / '09 Tahoe Tailgating
harv12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 06:12 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by harv12 View Post
Both of our compressors run when there is more than a 2 degree difference between the thermostat set-point and coach temperature even while on generator power. I would guess that if you were plugged into shore power and both compressors ran it would be generator issue.
A 5500 watt generator should handle up-wards of 45 amps. I would say that perhaps other things could be drawing power from the generator and some "load shedding" device may have the second stage compressor off, but you said that you were reading only 14 amps.
It could be any number of issues on the A/C side; thermostat malfunction, start capacitor, contactor, wire connections etc...typically there's a time delay between first and second stage operation, but usually only about 5 minutes.
I would start by seeing if the second compressor ran while on shore power to rule some generator issue.

Good luck and keep us updated.
Thanks,
As far as the 'Load Shedding'...the AC is the only thing running.
This was my monthly run of the generator and I always use the AC as a high amp draw to 'exercise' the Onan.

I am plugged into the garage outlet (20a), so I will try the AC on line power sometime today on line power.

Thanks again,
Paul
__________________
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, V-10
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, 4.7L V-8 QTII
U. S. Army Vet, In God We Trust
winnie32v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 07:35 AM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 693
I would check both breakers on genset as I each compressor is on separate breaker.
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (12 Yrs Old) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 08:14 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
FDchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 137
Your reading on your EMS panel is correct. You are running both compressors but can only see #1 because number 2 is running off of your 20 amp breaker which is not monitored by your panel. This is the correct wiring for your generator. Enjoy your newfound power!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Greg & Lynn (Full-Timing)
2011 Phaeton 42 QBH / Spartan Chassis
2003 Jeep GC Overland in Tow
FDchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:29 AM   #8
Winnie-Wise
 
1ciderdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 478
On my read out it is about 14 with one compressor running and 23 or so when both are running.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:17 AM   #9
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDchief View Post
Your reading on your EMS panel is correct. You are running both compressors but can only see #1 because number 2 is running off of your 20 amp breaker which is not monitored by your panel. This is the correct wiring for your generator. Enjoy your newfound power!
You may have something there.
UPDATE....................

Here is what I did:

I found both AC breakers in my main pane (one was 30a, the other 20a)l, turned both all the way off, then back on again. Now I know they are set properly.

I plugged in the shore line to my garage outlet.
Then I turned on my Air Conditioner. Amps went to 14a, then after about 5 seconds, I heard a 'sound' and amps went up to 20a. I expect that the second compressor kicked in from the sound.

Air coming out of the vents was cold.
When the coach temp was 1 degree below the set temp, the AC automatically shut off.

So, I will conclude that both compressors are working, at least on shore power.

Now, what is going on with the Generator? I only see an amp load of 14a with the AC on.
At suggested, either there is a malfunction in one of the switches or the Load Center is not wired to pick the 2nd compressor load.

I will call Winnebago on Tuesday and try to get some insight from their Customer Svc. rep.

In the meantine.....any comments, suggestions or things to try from the Forum?

Thanks for all of the advice and comments, so far.
The saga will continue............
Regards,
Paul
__________________
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, V-10
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, 4.7L V-8 QTII
U. S. Army Vet, In God We Trust
winnie32v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:44 AM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
harv12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
Sounds like you found the issues. It may be the generator or the power management system. It would be a good idea to call, of course on Holiday weekend that may mean a few days. You might want consider posting a new thread to "RV Systems & Technologies" forum. Maybe even do an on-line search for your Onan and Power Control system.
There are a whole lot of helpful folks on here with a bunch of experience and outside links.

Good Luck and please keep us updated!
__________________
Chris & Marily / Where Ever HaRV Takes Us
'07 Winnebago Vectra 40TD / '09 Tahoe Tailgating
harv12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:22 AM   #11
Winnebago Camper
 
krautkamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 38
You do not have a problem with the compressor. As FDchief mentioned, that second 20 amp breaker on the generator goes directly to the compressor and is not monitored by the EMS when on gen power. If you want to confirm this you can either monitor the air output temperaure at your vents with and without that breaker on and note the difference. Or you can expose the breaker on the genset by pulling the panel it mounts to and put an amp probe on the wire and see the current.
__________________
Bryan
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 35U, F53, V-10, Trimetric batt monitor, Scangauge II, 5 Star Tune, TST 507 TPMS
krautkamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:37 AM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDchief View Post
Your reading on your EMS panel is correct. You are running both compressors but can only see #1 because number 2 is running off of your 20 amp breaker which is not monitored by your panel. This is the correct wiring for your generator. Enjoy your newfound power!
Quote:
Originally Posted by krautkamper View Post
You do not have a problem with the compressor. As FDchief mentioned, that second 20 amp breaker on the generator goes directly to the compressor and is not monitored by the EMS when on gen power. If you want to confirm this you can either monitor the air output temperaure at your vents with and without that breaker on and note the difference. Or you can expose the breaker on the genset by pulling the panel it mounts to and put an amp probe on the wire and see the current.
Thank You for the input.....here is what I got from Winnebago Customer Service. This may be a little more detail of what you just explained.

First, I would like to thank you for all of your time and recommendations. Because of your efforts, I was able to talk intelligently to the Winnie Rep with the knowledge of what was going on.

Now, the result:
According to Winnie;

On Shore Power, the 2nd compressor DOES go through the Main Breaker Panel (recall A/C Circuit #2 breaker).
This is why I was able to 'turn the 2nd compressor off' using the breaker.
And, the EMS sees this load and it is shown as an amp draw on the Load readout. Hence, the jump in amps when the 2nd compressor kicks in.

On Gen Power, the 2nd compressor is NOT SEEN by the EMS, thus the amp draw is not detected by the Load Center. As the wiring diagram shows, the 2nd compressor is wired direct from the Transfer Switch. So, It DOES NOT go through the EMS.
Hence, you will NOT see the amp draw on the readout.

So, how does this difference in wiring routes occur?

Winnie tells me that this is all sensed and taken care of in the Transfer Switch (need to look at the detailed wiring of the Transfer Switch to understand this) . This Transfer Switch knows when you are on shore power and directs the current through the Main Panel which contains the "Loop Sensor (amprobe)" that sends the signal to the EMS Load Readout (amps).
Hence, you will 'see'' both amp loads when each compressor kicks in.

When on Gen Power, this 2nd Compressor circuit is direct wired to the compressor and not seen by the Loop Sensor. Hence, NO signal for the 2nd compressor amp load is detected and cannot be sent to the Load readout. You will see only the amp load from Compressor #1.

I think I finally understand this set-up!!!

I hope this is a help for all of those that contributed to this Topic.
Thanks for all of your replies.

Regards,
Paul
__________________
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, V-10
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, 4.7L V-8 QTII
U. S. Army Vet, In God We Trust
winnie32v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 12:58 PM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 135
OK...now I am officially cornfused. LOL

When I am on genset I see 14 amps on my EMS with compressor #1 running and 21-22 when compressor #2 kicks in. Based on what I am reading, I should not see any change when #2 kicks in.

Of course, that doesn't even begin to apply to the EMS on 50 amp shore power since the EMS doesn't report amp usage in that case.

Could this be specific to certain models?
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Gardian for GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:08 PM   #14
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by athuddriver View Post
OK...now I am officially cornfused. LOL

When I am on genset I see 14 amps on my EMS with compressor #1 running and 21-22 when compressor #2 kicks in. Based on what I am reading, I should not see any change when #2 kicks in.

Of course, that doesn't even begin to apply to the EMS on 50 amp shore power since the EMS doesn't report amp usage in that case.

Could this be specific to certain models?
Go to this wiring diagram:
http://www.winnebagoind.com/diagram/...ire_154822.pdf

From what you describe, you must have a 50a Shore line.
If so, according to the Winnebago wiring schematic for your unit, 50a, BOTH A/C Circuits (Compressor #1 & #2) "go through" the Sensor Loop and, thus, should be detected on your Load readout.

I do not see any direct wiring to the Compressor #2, as I have described.
The 30a shore line for your Model would act as I have described in my previous reply.

So, if you have a 50a shore line, you are seeing exactly what you should be seeing.

Please let us know if your service is 50a.

Regards,
Paul

PS: I may try to edit my reply to ensure that it is understood that I have a 30a line.
__________________
2001 Winnebago Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, V-10
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, 4.7L V-8 QTII
U. S. Army Vet, In God We Trust
winnie32v is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor, generator, winnebago


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Air - New Compressor is Installed ! Bug512 General Maintenance and Repair 16 08-08-2014 01:12 PM
RV is 50 amps, RV Park Spot is 30 amps jmraz73 Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures 30 01-06-2014 05:12 PM
Basement air #2 compressor won't start vacuumbulb General Maintenance and Repair 7 09-07-2012 08:29 AM
Basement Air Low Amps traveler of california General Maintenance and Repair 11 04-11-2012 04:44 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.