Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2012, 07:59 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
bgbeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sumware
Posts: 10
30 to 50 amp service

I have a 2000 Chieftain w/30 amp Svc and a 7kw gen. If 7kw is 50 amps, why can't my system handle 50 amp svc? At least for temp situations...
bgbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
troth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 387
Beav, I think you need to rephrase your question... -what problem are you having?
Your coach is wired to use 30A from the park pedestal. Your generator will provide up to 50A if you're not using shore power. I believe you should be able to run both roof airs with your 30A shore line.
Tell us what doesn't seem right.
__________________
Last Brave 2004 34D
troth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:12 AM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgbeaver View Post
I have a 2000 Chieftain w/30 amp Svc and a 7kw gen. If 7kw is 50 amps, why can't my system handle 50 amp svc? At least for temp situations...
3,600W = 30 amps
7,000W = 58.33 amps
7Kw is not a 50 amp supply as used in an RV.

An RV 50 amp service is actually 100 amps at 120 volts as it's using two legs to supply the pedestal so you can theoretically pull 100 amps

50 amps X 2 circuits X 120 volts = 12,000 watts
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Lifetime GS Member, SKP, FMCA,
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:38 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 851
IT is common for a 30 amp RV to have a somewhat larger generator.. EPICALLY if it has two air conditioners.

When on 30 amps you can run one A/C at a time, (Less you do a bit of modification) many 30 amp rigs have an Energy Management system that will let you run the 2nd one provided a whole bunch of conditions are met, Else it alternates them.

But when you fire up the generator, it will have two circuit breakers on it, one 30 amp, one 20 amp.

The 30 amp runs your "Whole house" just like shore power.

the 20.. The rear air conditioner (Normally it's the rear). Nothing else.

The "Slight mod" I mentioned is to install what is technically called a "Break out box" in the line to the rear A/C from the generator.. Basically this is a plug and socket.

The plug (Goes to the A/C) and the socket connects to the line FROM the generator.

On a 30 amp site, you unplug the rear A/C from the RV's system and plug it in (Via a 12ga Extension cord) to the 15/20 amp outlet on the park's power post.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:18 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
Patrol 65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 80
I have a 7 kw generator with 50 amp service. What model Chieftain do you have?
__________________
Nathan and Linda, 2000 Winnebago Chieftain 35U, F53 Chassis, Banks Power Pack
Patrol 65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:28 PM   #6
Winnebago Camper
 
bgbeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sumware
Posts: 10
It's a 35u, but the orig owner didn't upgrade to 50amps. So it goes. Thanks
bgbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:33 PM   #7
Winnebago Camper
 
bgbeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sumware
Posts: 10
Great response, but too tech for me to try on my own.
The ped breaker keeps tripping, so I'm hoping a 30 to 50 amp adapter will solve the problem when it's 90+ degrees outside. Have heard of your solution, but, again, am reluctant to mess w/something I ain't sure about. Thanks
bgbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:49 PM   #8
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
You can change over to 50 amp service but shouldn't do it unless your knowledgeable in electrical service. I changed my hurricane to50 amps and had to pull new 6/3 cable from the elec. cord to the converter, install a new 50 amp switch and new circuit breakers, running 20 amps to the rear a/c and 30 amps to the converter for the rest of the circuits.
Tom A
tallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:12 PM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
3,600W = 30 amps
7,000W = 58.33 amps
7Kw is not a 50 amp supply as used in an RV.

An RV 50 amp service is actually 100 amps at 120 volts as it's using two legs to supply the pedestal so you can theoretically pull 100 amps

50 amps X 2 circuits X 120 volts = 12,000 watts
Mr D has it correct.

A 30A 120V service (like yours) provides 3600 watts of power.

A 50A 240V service provides 12,000 watts of power.

Your generator is a 7,000 watt generator.

1 A/C will draw about 1440 watts of power; 2 will draw about 2880.

You can convert your rig to a 50A service, which may include changing your transfer switch and panel box, and service cord. It can be done.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:29 PM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
Just For Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by troth View Post
Beav, I think you need to rephrase your question... -what problem are you having?
Your coach is wired to use 30A from the park pedestal. Your generator will provide up to 50A if you're not using shore power. I believe you should be able to run both roof airs with your 30A shore line.
Tell us what doesn't seem right.
Yes. We have a 1999 Adventurer with two "15" AC units. We can run both on shore or Genny power and still have power for other minor "stuff." Bo not a coffee maker or microwave.
Just For Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:20 AM   #11
Winnebago Camper
 
bgbeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sumware
Posts: 10
Problem solved. Phantom load was the culprit. Disconnected both dvr's and tv's. Amps dropped from 28 to 24, hasn't tripped since. Thanks to all.
bgbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can 50 amp coach run a/c on 30 amp service eddiel Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 8 09-04-2016 05:09 AM
1998 Chevy P3 Service Manual / P32 Service Manual? Yogisurf General Maintenance and Repair 7 05-06-2012 07:55 PM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 20 09-20-2007 05:41 PM
50 amp service - help Norm Newhall Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 80 08-18-2006 04:36 PM
Can heatpump run on 20/30 amp service? Winnebago General Discussions 14 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.