Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 02:34 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Greyhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Any where we park
Posts: 28
While sitting on my duff watching the evening news, my TV, satellite and the blink eye on my VCR went black. I am connected to shore power and everything else works.
I have power to the inverter, but when I tried turning it on, the power on light did not come on.
I also attempted to reset the breaker button on the front panel of the inverter, to no avail.
Any ideas or suggestions? As always, when something breaks, the manufacturer is not available
__________________
2008 Gulf Stream Tour Master T40B 330 Mercedes
Greyhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 02:34 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
Greyhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Any where we park
Posts: 28
While sitting on my duff watching the evening news, my TV, satellite and the blink eye on my VCR went black. I am connected to shore power and everything else works.
I have power to the inverter, but when I tried turning it on, the power on light did not come on.
I also attempted to reset the breaker button on the front panel of the inverter, to no avail.
Any ideas or suggestions? As always, when something breaks, the manufacturer is not available
__________________
2008 Gulf Stream Tour Master T40B 330 Mercedes
Greyhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 02:49 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
"007"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 629
Check for a fuse from batteries. You may have too many things on for the convert to operate. Move the VCR to an outlet not off convert. Could also be a bad gnd fault outlet on converter. Check gnd fault outlets in kitchen or bath outlet for convert may feed off one of them. --"007"
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 05:54 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newmarket, Ont
Posts: 48
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Greyhound:
I am connected to shore power and everything else works. I have power to the inverter, but when I tried turning it on, the power on light did not come on. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
When you say you have power to the inverter, do you mean 120 VAC power, 12 VDC power, or both?

If the inverter incorporates an internal automatic transfer switch, then 12 VDC power-on light may be bypassed while plugged into 120 VAC.

If Winnebago is still using Freedom inverters for their TVs, they tend to have a poor record for reliability. If you don't have any 12 VDC going to the inverter, then the unit has probably shorted out, blowing the 25 amp supply-fuse.
Stan Birch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 08:17 AM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
Greyhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Any where we park
Posts: 28
Thank you "007" and Stan for the information. Winnebago in their infinite wisdom, placed the inverter in the overhead storage box, which has little ventilation. As a result, it over heated, popped the breaker and would not reset until everything cooled off.
I am sitting in ST. Louis where it has been extremely warm the past week and I guess the heat build up was to much for the inverter.
When it did cool, I was able to reset the breaker and everything works fine. I did however to the recommended checks.
It is the 300W Dimensions (El Cheapo). I will at some later date, have it replaced with something I hope will be more reliable. For now, I have the door open and will obtain a battery operated fan to circulate the air until such time I get to cooler weather.
Thanks again for the advice.
__________________
2008 Gulf Stream Tour Master T40B 330 Mercedes
Greyhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 08:25 AM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
John_Canfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Back at the ranch
Posts: 2,041
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">It is the 300W Dimensions (El Cheapo). </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Don't feel too badly - I have the 2,000 watt version of El Cheapo. I plan on replacing it with a Xantrex.

John
__________________
--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 03:40 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
SeaRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: lexington, sc, usa
Posts: 59
Greyhound,
Mine failed and I finally had to plug the TV and VCR into the 120v outlet to get then to work. Since I never had occassion to need TV on Inverter I just took it out. We seldom boondock so it was not a big deal to us. Point is when it failed, it would not pass AC to the TV or VCR even when commected to shore power.
SeaRAy
__________________
2001 Winnebago 37G, 2003 Saturn L300, brakebuddy Laissez les bon temps roulez
SeaRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 11:13 AM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: VA / AZ
Posts: 26
I too have a dimension 300w inverter that may have just bit the dust. Do you suppose Winnebago knows about these problems? All I have hooked up are the TV and vcr.
Keith
PULLEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 04:08 AM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
I have a new Dimensions 300w in the box. Bought it to upgrade my old Vectra from the Dimensions 130w to 300w but traded in the coach before I had a chance to install it.

[email protected]
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA · FMCA 335149 · W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R · W24, no chassis mods needed · 2013 Honda Accord EX-L · 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 04:11 AM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
Forgot to mention I also have the Dimensions 130w invertor that I removed from my Vectra. It operates fine.

[email protected]
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA · FMCA 335149 · W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R · W24, no chassis mods needed · 2013 Honda Accord EX-L · 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no power unless hooked to shore power ken551 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 06-21-2012 05:55 PM
No power in house when off shore power. Batteries good. wbezemek Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 01-04-2012 07:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.