Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2016, 10:17 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 91
Dash cam

How many of you have a dash cam in ur motor home.
Forzatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 10:22 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 341
We do. Garmin.
__________________
Jim and Carol Cooper with Oreo the Kitty
FAA ATC ret, VFW, Legion, VVA, NRA
2002 Journey, Cat 330, 2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 10:25 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper
 
tmw188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
How are you using it?
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 10:51 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 91
Dashcam video is proof in the event of an accident caused by another driver who claims I am at fault. Without witnesses, it's your word against theirs. Or drivers who cut you off to exit the freeway or pass you and then brake check, or aggressive drivers who cause an accident, drunk drivers, road rage, etc.
Forzatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:21 AM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
tmw188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
So you have it running full time?


iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:31 AM   #6
Winnebago Camper
 
Don and Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Just picked up the Cobra CDR-840 dash cam and plan on using it full time in the RV. So far, great little cam (Tried/tested it out in the daily driver)
__________________
"In the game of life, I have no need for tickets on the 50-yard line, I brought my shoes, I came to play." Unknown
Don and Dale (2015 Tiffin 32 SA with 5ST, CHF, Safe-T-Plus and EEZRV TPMS) RVM106
Don and Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:32 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 91
Yes I do in the RV when we are in the car I put it in there .All it is a tool to use
Forzatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:48 AM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 22
I use my GoPro Hero as dash camera. It's running whenever the coach is moving or the toad. I run mine off of a USB port that's plugged into a 12v cig. plug which also charges the GoPro battery. Runs in an endless loop through a 12 Gig micro SD card that I run on my computer.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 11:53 AM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
Don and Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
I should have mentioned that I , too, use the GoPro Hero 3+ BigSkyBob. I forgot about that.
__________________
"In the game of life, I have no need for tickets on the 50-yard line, I brought my shoes, I came to play." Unknown
Don and Dale (2015 Tiffin 32 SA with 5ST, CHF, Safe-T-Plus and EEZRV TPMS) RVM106
Don and Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 12:26 PM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 66
We bought and use this one: Robot Check

I was looking for one that would run continuously and the description said this would do that. It doesn't. At the end of the day/trip, whatever, I still have multiple files to deal with. I really just want one continuous recording. This is our second one in an effort to obtain continuous recording but I'm beginning to think they don't exist.
__________________
Phil in Bonney Lake, WA
2003 Itasca Horizon, 32TD
Madrona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 12:54 PM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
jerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 153
Go Pro 3 has continuous loop in its programs. Search Google for instructs.
__________________
WE WORK HARD SO OUR DOG CAN HAVE A BETTER LIFE
2005 ADVENTURER 38J
jerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 12:59 PM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
SeeTheUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Deep In The Heart of Texas
Posts: 151
Garmin 35 with a 64gb memory card .... activates and deactivates with the ignition.
__________________
Warren and Debbie
2018 Winnebago View 24D
2014 Tiffin Breeze 32BR, 2012 Winnebago Navion 24G, 2006 Winnebago View 23H
SeeTheUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 01:15 PM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madrona View Post
We bought and use this one: Robot Check



I was looking for one that would run continuously and the description said this would do that. It doesn't. At the end of the day/trip, whatever, I still have multiple files to deal with. I really just want one continuous recording. This is our second one in an effort to obtain continuous recording but I'm beginning to think they don't exist.

Why? When searching for a particular event, it's easier to sort through the files by date/time stamp. Also 8 hours of video would be a HUGE file, taking a really long time to load, and might even crash your computer. Also it makes it possible for the camera to start overwriting the oldest files when the memory card fills up. If you just had several huge files, and the space filled up, it would have to delete the "entire" oldest file to make room...meaning you could potentially lose valuable video.

If you just want to "stitch" the individual files together to make a "movie" for entertainment, there are utility programs that can do that.
pasdad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 01:16 PM   #14
Winnebago Master
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madrona View Post
We bought and use this one: Robot Check

I was looking for one that would run continuously and the description said this would do that. It doesn't. At the end of the day/trip, whatever, I still have multiple files to deal with. I really just want one continuous recording. This is our second one in an effort to obtain continuous recording but I'm beginning to think they don't exist.
I have 2 or three different ones, Everyone one of them can be set form a continuous loop. You might have to go into the setup and change settings though.
Right now I have 2 Cobra CDR 840's and they will do it, just needed to change the settings. They also turn off and on with the ignition, or at least they do in the cars, haven't tried yet in the MH.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Lifetime GS Member, SKP, FMCA,
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dash


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony back up cam replacement? CJ7ole Tech | Toys and Gear 13 03-14-2013 01:28 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.