Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2021, 10:39 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Smile Hello from Connecticut! 2022 View 24D

Anxiously waiting for my new 2022 View 24D - looks like it will be coming in mid-late November and plan on chasing 70 degrees after the holidays.

I have been camping for about 50 years - had a 22 ft Minnie Winnie (no slides, real basic) that I took across the country with my 3 kids (single grandma raising her grandkids). They grew up and we needed more space so I bought a Class A with lots of slides and gadgets, which I loved, but the kids grew up even more - college, work, boyfriends, etc. I gave my Class A to my nephew who has 3 young kids and they are on their way across the country making memories as I write this. Thought I was done with traveling, but it's in my blood and so now is the time for me. My job is remote, so as long as I have cell service and wifi, I'm good to go wherever the road takes me. I hope to meet some of you on the road!
CamperCarol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 11:35 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Where do you plan to "chase 70 degrees after the holidays"? I too live in Ct- Litchfield and we would like to do just that. This is what I have found about SE US camping in the winter:

I don't want to stay at commercial RV parks. They are crowded, expensive and all are fully booked for the winter in Florida by now. Virtually all public campgrounds with full hookups are now fully booked for next winter. They usually are booked the day the reservation window opens.

You can find places at public no hookup sites at the last minute in NC. When we bought our new Thor Axis this January we booked several nights in April at Carolina Beach State Park in NC near Wilmington and Jordan Lake near Raleigh, NC. We didn't try Florida because even no hook up sites get booked almost immediately.