Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 03:06 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
David K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 344
I have a 2002 Ultimate Advantage and am trying to exercise the generator once a month for an hour per the recommendations (this is when we do not use it in normal usage camping). When parked at my house, I have it plugged into shore power. My question is, before I start up the generator to run it, should I cut off the shore power or is it OK to run the generator while the shore power is connected also.
__________________
Dave and Karen -- '02 Ultimate Advantage 36 C, 350 HP Cummins, Allison 3060 Tranny
'13 Ford Edge, InvisiBrake
David K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 03:06 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
David K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 344
I have a 2002 Ultimate Advantage and am trying to exercise the generator once a month for an hour per the recommendations (this is when we do not use it in normal usage camping). When parked at my house, I have it plugged into shore power. My question is, before I start up the generator to run it, should I cut off the shore power or is it OK to run the generator while the shore power is connected also.
__________________
Dave and Karen -- '02 Ultimate Advantage 36 C, 350 HP Cummins, Allison 3060 Tranny
'13 Ford Edge, InvisiBrake
David K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 03:23 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
I beleive that the transfer switch will default to the generator when started while plugged into shore power. That is if you trust the transfer switch.This should be noted in your info bag.
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 04:01 PM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
Yes, leave it plugged in and exercise the transfer switch also.

_tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 06:23 PM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
cbeierl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,831
I unplug mine before starting the generator because if I don't sometimes the switchover trips the GFCI on the house outlet I'm plugged into.
__________________
Chris Beierl

2005 Winnebago Vectra 36RD
cbeierl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 06:58 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 729
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by cbeierl:
I unplug mine before starting the generator because if I don't sometimes the switchover trips the GFCI on the house outlet I'm plugged into. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Same here....
FrontRangeRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 01:31 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,046
Leave mine plugged into the house and it works just fine..Good miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 08:31 AM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
bellsharbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 203
David K,

I have always unplugged---however having C.R.S. at times, I just recently started the generator while plugged into 110 and it worked as advertised. It passed the smoke test!!
__________________
John and Marion Bell
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2013 Keystone Bullet 248RKS, 2013 Ram 1500
bellsharbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 01:19 PM   #9
Winnie-Wise
 
David K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 344
Thanks for all of the help. I just crossed my fingers and started the generator up. The xfer switch worked -- no smoking or unusual noise. Looks like it worked as advertised.
__________________
Dave and Karen -- '02 Ultimate Advantage 36 C, 350 HP Cummins, Allison 3060 Tranny
'13 Ford Edge, InvisiBrake
David K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Aux Power Problem BugSlayer Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 27 03-01-2009 07:07 AM
Winter Generator running codgerbill Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 26 12-05-2008 04:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.