Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-02-2020, 05:56 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

wonky water gauges

Hi I am new to this and loving our brand new 2020 micro minnie 2108ds. I am finding the water gauges unreliable. We have a 35 gallon fresh water tank and a 30 gallon black and 30 gallon grey tank. On our first few trips We tended to barely use the black tank but due to covid we may use it more instead of public rest rooms. It seems that the fresh water gauge goes down fast to 1/3 full while the grey and black tank register empty. Then the grey tank will go up to 2/3 full after barely a use. I realize these are approximations but since they are broken into thirds what are they trying to tell me. For example at what point is the fresh tank supposed to go from full to 2/3, from 2/3 to 1/3 and how much is left when it says empty? What I am specifically trying to avoid is adding fresh water when the grey tank is full and overflowing the grey tank. We are cautious so a big mistake is unlikely but knowledge is power.
jerilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:30 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

I don't think there are definite answers.

The first thing you have to do is make sure you start out with the Fresh water tank 100% full. Some fill up the fresh water tank, and it starts coming out and they think it's full. I suggest turning down the water to a low stream when you get close to full, and you probably can get more water in when you thought it was full. That's been my experience.

In terms of Black, we never get close to full.
With Grey, your only going to be able to wash dishes and a few showers throughout the weekend. Showers would need to be short. You really have to conserve.