Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-29-2012, 07:37 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Smile Newbie Here!

Hello all, my wife and I just bout our first Motorhome! We purchaed a 1996 Winnebago Brave, the model is a "29RQ", which is 29' 7,5" in length. It seems to have every option available, and everything works great. It has the Chevy 454, TBI fuel injection.

We got what I feel is a great deal on it, and it has 58,000 miles, and lot of maintenance records. I feel it was a good purchase for us. We have little ones so we are looking forward to camping ASAP! I have been a boat owner for many years everything from Cruisers to bow riders, so I feel some of the systems are relatively the same, and I am a DIY'er.

I did notice that the things seems to really require a lot of constant correction at the wheel while driving, (back and forth), even in just light wind. Does that just come with the territory?? I read that you need to check the air pressure in the front coil spring air bags, which I've not yet done. Any other suggestions on front suspenstion items or any other items to look at being a newbie to this thing??

Thanks,
Robert
just relax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:17 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Robert;

Congratulations on the purchase of your first motor home. I believe Winnebago makes great motor homes. I can't help answer any questions about your Brave but I will make a couple basic suggestions.

Have your MH weighed loaded for travel. Weigh the front and rear axles separately. Than refer to your tire chart and set tire pressures correctly for each Axel. You are correct about checking pressure in the front air bags and recheck later to make sure there are no leaks. If I remember correctly I kept the air pressure at 50#s on a previous P32 chassis.