Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2021, 09:41 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

New to Forum, and Winnabago Vista

Hello All,
I am new to Winnie Owners Forum, and new to forums. Not sure I am doing this correct. I just bought a 2015 Vista 26HE with 9,000 miles. Looking at doing a few things to it, and finding assistance without opening my wallet very wide a bit difficult.
If I could draw a little help from a few of you would be a great help.
1) Looking to replace my King Antenna with a Dish Tailgater Pro. Should I remove the original King or just add the Tailgater Pro and leave the King there?
2) It doesn't come with Screws to attach the Base. Is there any special type of screw on the Winnabago Roof.
3) I saw on a U tube video, that winnabago uses Silicone, not the Dicor Lap sealant to seal their holes and seams. Is that correct?
Thank you for any help and comments.
ricknroxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 10:36 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

ricknroxy, welcome to the Winnie Owners' Forum. It is a great place for information and assistance. Here's a couple of thoughts:
1) for the King antenna, many times there are trees that block the satellites from the dish antenna so you might not want to permanently mount the new tailgater pro to the roof. That way you can move it to a spot with a clear view to the satellites. There are pros and cons to both approaches. If you do a permanent roof mount, I would remove the original King dish to re-use the wiring.
2) no special screws required but I would use stainless steel so they don't rust. The roof material is less than 1/4" thick so I'm not sure the screws really do much good. Most roof fixtures have butyl rubber tape/caulk between the roof and their mounting flanges. The sealant adds extra holding power. Some people use 3M Very High Bond (VHB) double stick tape as well but I have no experience with that on the roof.