Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-24-2007, 06:40 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Winnebago but have been RVing since 2005. I am still pretty new but having loads of fun! This is my first post on this forum but I have been on many other RV forums like rv.net etc for years. My wife and I are in our 30's. We have two children (girls); the oldest is 3 1/2 and the youngest is 13 months. We just ordered (build to order) our 2008 Outlook 31c on December 14th. We are very excited.

We are somewhat casual campers. We mostly like dry camping type camp grounds and boondocking. Our current RV is a 29' travel trailer (Trail-Bay). It's a really nice TT but the hassle of hookup, leveling, length, etc has finally pushed us to upgrade. We originally wanted to buy a Class A or C back in 2005 (when we bought our TT), but since we were new to RV's we wanted to get our feet wet (at a lower cost) before going big.

We visited many RV dealers and checked out so many models in the different classes. When we finally settled on a make on model we had the hardest time finding what we wanted at a good price. After searching for many weeks we finally decided to get quoted on a build-to-order. This was the best move. We ended up getting exactly what we wanted and at the best price. My brother, who was in the market for a Class C loved the price we got so much he ordered one as well. My dealer must of been pretty happy to get two orders at once.

Anyway, now comes the waiting part. I definitely underestimated how agonizing that would be. The dealer said it would take 8-12 weeks and didn't know if there would be delays because of the holiday. I figure by the end of March I should have it.