Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2022, 02:27 PM   #1
Taz
Living the dream

Hello, newbie here! Purchase decision?

Hello Winnie owners. My name is Taz. I've owned several tow behinds and most recently a 2018 35 foot 5th wheel which I just sold. My wife and I are actively looking at the Sightseer 29R as we like the floorplan and the 30 foot length.

We are looking at a 2005 (30,000 miles) workhorse and a 2009 (70,000 miles) Ford V-10. Price difference is $14,000. The 2005 has had shocks, steering stabilizers, rotors, brake lines and rear stabilizer replaced.

Being totally new to the motorhome side of rving would the 2005 be a good purchase? Besides the age of the MH are there issues I should be aware of?

Thanks everyone, looking forward to being a member of this site!

Taz...
Taz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2022, 05:03 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

The biggest first thing on motorhomes is to learn about the batteries as they are one of the most common problems as many do not understasnd them fully and that mean they often let either the coach or chassis/start battery run down often enough to damage them!
They ay both have batytery disconnects but both the start and coach will STILL have small drains whioch run the batteries dead when stored, if we do not really get into digging the info out on how to keep them up!
When buying, assume you may need batteries soon!
Morich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2022, 08:24 AM   #3
Site Team

Hello and welcome!

For me, I would always choose newer when deciding about which motorhome to buy. But you also have a chassis choice to make.