Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Winnebago General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-31-2019, 06:38 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

What would you do?

I am somewhat new to Class A RV and recently had a very bad experience. I brought my Winnebago into a local dealer for a body panel repair. I had to travel out of state the next day by air. The day after that the service mgr. sent me a photo of my RV with about 20 ft. of the side of the roof ripped from the channel by the drip rail. The service mgr. had told me before I brought my RV in that this model was known for issues with the roof blowing open.

I told him I knew all about it. The previous owner cautioned me to check the roof frequently and so I did. I checked it a week or so before I brought it into the dealer. There was no problem with the roof when I dropped it off. I can only guess that the service manager was trying to drum up work to keep his men busy and or make some money fixing what he had his men destroy on my RV.

I told him I did not have money for his expensive roof repair and to leave it alone. I took the RV home when the original work was done and am working on it by myself. I am 74 years old and have been working on a 12 ft ladder trying to undo the damage that they did. The part where they pried the roof open looks like they used a flat carpenters pry-bar to rip the material free from the caulking sealer in the rail channel. That part is cracked from forcing it out of its location. I am not sure how to repair that part and am hoping that Eternabond will stick to the curved side of the roof where it tucks into the rail. This is a Winnebago dealer that did this to me. Any suggestions are welcome.
dawa106 is offline   Reply With Quote