Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-05-2019, 09:57 AM   #1
jgh
Winnebago Camper

Vin Question

I'm new to Winnebago, when I look up vin it shows ford stripped chassis. nothing about Winnebago. is this normal.
Old 09-05-2019, 10:23 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Send a message via Yahoo to rk911
yes. the chassis VIN is just that...the VIN for the chassis only. Winnebago purchases the chassis' from the mfg and then builds the coach. the coach will have it's own serial number. when/if you call Winnebago tech or sales support they will ask you for either the VIN or the serial number. they can identify your specific coach with either. suggest you write down both and keep them handy.

btw, it is entirely possible that your chassis VIN may indicate a different year than the coach. for example, a 2019 Winnebago motorhome may be built on a 2018 chassis. for licensing and insurance purposes the vehicle is considered a 2019 model.

2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 02:39 PM   #3
JBP
Winnie-Wise

The dealer should have given you the correct title. I usually receive both. Did you look in you satchel. They may have put it in there. It should have been given to you when you signed the paper work picking put the coach.
Give the person that did the paper work for you were the correct one is. Were you able to get it licensed?
JBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 05:36 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise

Ford was the actual builder of the chassis. They are required to give it a VIN............no one else
Ret.LEO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 06:03 PM   #5
NXR
Winnebago Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBP View Post