Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Winnebago General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-02-2014, 04:29 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Question About A Chassis

I'm still new to this RVing universe -- just bought our coach in September. I have a 31-foot 2004 Itasca Spirit with a Ford V-10 engine and a Ford E-450 emblem on the side. So I thought I have a Ford chassis.

Today, I was looking into buying hydraulic levelers and was told I'd have to pay an extra $200 above the cost of the system because, according to the manufacturer's email, "There is an additional $200.00 for the Sprinter due to the fact there are special brackets required for a proper installation."

So, first of all, what's a Sprinter? A kind of chassis?

And, second, how do I know if I have one?

Thanks for any assistance in clearing up my confusion.
VAParrothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 04:43 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAParrothead View Post
I'm still new to this RVing universe -- just bought our coach in September. I have a 31-foot 2004 Itasca Spirit with a Ford V-10 engine and a Ford E-450 emblem on the side. So I thought I have a Ford chassis.

Today, I was looking into buying hydraulic levelers and was told I'd have to pay an extra $200 above the cost of the system because, according to the manufacturer's email, "There is an additional $200.00 for the Sprinter due to the fact there are special brackets required for a proper installation."

The Sprinter chassis has been sold under the Mercedes, Dodge, Freightliner and Volkswagen nameplates and I believe all their engines used in RVs are diesels.