Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-22-2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Normal Turbo Sound?

I've recently had a lot of work done to the coach by Cummins, but I don't think this question has anything to do with that b/c the noise was there before, and it's still there. I'm wanting to know if this is 'normal'.

When I take off from a start, if I accelerate at anything above about 1/2 throttle, I can hear a whooshing sound (sounds like a big air leak) coming from the engine. Not a normal turbo whine. I'm a novice with diesel engines, but I think I understand there is no blow off valve used for the variable geometry turbo I have, right (Cummins 6.7 ISB)? So it's not that. The whooshing persists until the transmission shifts into 3rd or 4th gear and the boost pressure drops. FWIW, the max boost pressure I'm registering is around 28 psi. Can someone enlighthen whether this is a normal sound or if I potentially have a boost leak somewhere? Does the VGT making an odd noise under those conditions?

(Wayne, I'm assuming you're watching, so I just wanted to get a second opinion since your situation is a little different than mine.)
Old 10-22-2013, 12:19 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner