Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2021, 05:34 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Lost Fuel Prime 2002 Itasca Horizon IKP34HD

I own a 2002 Horizon Itasca model IKP34HD with a Cat 330 HP engine that I've owned less than a year.
I read that I need to drain the fuel/water separator, which I've never done before and I guess I 'messed up'!
I opened the valve on the fuel/water separator that is mounted between the radiator and the radiator grill and drained about a 1/2 quart of fuel. There was very little water that came out.
Later when I started the engine it ran for a couple minutes and stopped running!
No matter how much I crank it, it will not start!
As best I can determined from reading comments on the web, I drained too much fuel, and lost the fuel line prime and I don't know how to re-prime the fuel line!
Some on the forum said to remove this filter that I drained, fill it with diesel fuel and it should start.
There isn't nearly enough room to get my hands between the radiator and the grill, and it isn't a clear pathway to get to the filter and bring it down under the body!
Does anyone have a suggestion on how to solve my problem?
Bill Myers
Bill Myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 07:05 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

You probably have an air lock, loosen one of the injector lines, crank till it starts then re-tighten.
Old 12-15-2021, 02:49 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

I don't know what to look for or where to find an injector line.
I loosened a connector or the fuel/water separator and applied low pressure to the fuel tank. The fuel/water separator is now full of fuel but it still wont start!
Old 12-15-2021, 02:54 PM   #4
Winnebago Master