Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2017, 07:45 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Smile Looking for Advice on purchase

Hello. I am new to the whole RVing experience. We are hoping to purchase our first RV this week. It is a Meridian 42E 2016.

I haven't actually laid eyes on it as it is being delivered to the store. Being almost 2 years old I was wondering what are some of the things I should be aware of on the walkthrough and test-drive. We are getting a normal mechanical inspection of course but there are so many bells and whistles to check I was hoping to get some input from some of the more seasoned community members on some of the normal issues associated with this model so I can be more focused when I do the walk through.

I have downloaded the owners manual and am trudging my way through it and have looked at quite a few videos etc. Trying to do my due diligence to avoid any pitfalls but the best advice is always from someone who has already traveled down this road
RGRoadTeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 07:48 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Wow! That's a big unit for a first timer, Good Luck, where do we begin to talk about your PDI
Old 04-23-2017, 09:55 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

They always say, "buy your third RV first". Looks like you did. Congratulations. My best advice is to video the PDI. There will be times in the future when you'll need to know how to do something, and won't remember how. The video makes a great reference for that.

Happy Trails!!!
Old 04-24-2017, 12:30 AM   #4
Winnie-Wise

If this is a new unit then make sure the owners manual is there. You should get a big black Winnebago satchel full of goodies and 2 full sets of keys.
I would schedule a 3 to 5 day trip camping somewhere close the first weeks you get it.
Don't be afraid to ask questions of the others in the campground.