Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-03-2006, 04:20 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

The grille just below the engine access cover has come loose on my 2005 Horizon. I recall previous posts about things coming unglued. What glue do I need to get it re-attached. I am out of warranty by one month.
2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards Winner
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:20 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

The grille just below the engine access cover has come loose on my 2005 Horizon. I recall previous posts about things coming unglued. What glue do I need to get it re-attached. I am out of warranty by one month.
Old 01-03-2006, 05:02 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

Rex - I can't exactly place the type of materials that you are dealing with but I like two different methods that I have a lot of experience with from boating days.

First on the list is West System epoxy. They have handy pumps to where you can mix up exactly what you need for the job. The epoxy by itself is too runny for that kind of job so part of the West System is all kinds of powders you can add to thicken the mixture. Some of the additives are for sanding down to a smooth finish, some are for bonding, some are for strength.

The other thing I would consider using is 3M 5200 caulk. I used it to bed various things on to the deck of the boat with great results. It is an amazingly tenacious adhesive and sealant; in fact it is so good you never use it on anything you might want to seperate at a later date.

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:23 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

LK23,
Call winnebago I guarantee they will take care of it.
hogbreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:43 PM   #5
Winnebago Master