Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2012, 11:20 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

fuel tank leak

I am new to this forum so not sure I understand proper portacall.

I have a 1998 Winebago Chieftain on a Freightliner chassis that appears to have a fuel tank leak, I'm wanting to see if anyone else has had this problem,, ever had a fuel tank leak? It looks like it may be leaking out of the weld.
is there anyone out there that has seen this happen before ?
Thanks
Bill
airplane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

:welcome:

Sorry to hear about your problem.

Last one I heard that had this problem was MonacoMama (MM) when we meet at Quartzsite in January.

I have no personal experience, but if you don't get a satisfactory reply, try looking up MM in the Monaco forum and send a PM (personal message). MM is always willing to share her knowledge.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:52 AM   #3
Winnie-Wise

:welcome: I've had this issue in a car, not an rv. I had to drain and drop tank, get it steamed and cleaned to get rid of all fumes, then had it welded and I reinstalled it. Welder wouldn't touch it without having it steamed.

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:08 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by airplane View Post
I am new to this forum so not sure I understand proper portacall.

I have a 1998 Winebago Chieftain on a Freightliner chassis that appears to have a fuel tank leak, I'm wanting to see if anyone else has had this problem,, ever had a fuel tank leak? It looks like it may be leaking out of the weld.
is there anyone out there that has seen this happen before ?
Thanks
Bill
Sir,