Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-11-2019, 10:34 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Found my first two issues with my new (to me) Winnie Chieftain 28

If you saw my Welcome Mat post I am new to this life after another lifetime in, on, and around sailboats. I paid $4,000 for a 1989 Chieftain because I wanted to make sure that this was something my wife and I really wanted to do. I can wrench on most things so I figured I can wrench on this.

Except I can't. Not yet anyway. My first problem is probably minor. My headlights don't turn on. Previous owner installed two fairly powerful LED's in the front bumper, so I do have headlights, just not CA legal ones.

Second problem is really where I need the help. I have a two year old awning setup that unfurled flawlessly and really is like new (see picture). The problem is that it would not retract when I went to stow it. Upon examination I found that the pin on the winding mechanism, which is usually held in place with another pin, at the end of the forward arm, had somehow dislodged. I took apart the entire mechanism and put it back together correctly. Now it will roll up, but all the videos I see show it under tension and rolling up on it's own.

Was I supposed to maybe turn the barrel a couple of times to introduce tension? This is all new to me, and any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WeChat Image_20190511205002.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	171588  
Old 05-12-2019, 04:55 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Eric