Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2018, 11:33 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Who re-charges roof A/C units?

I had a mechanic top off the freon (?) in the chassis A/C ...but who could/should do the roof unit?

It works, but it's 2003... and given the level of service I have observed about other things, I suspect this would benefit. I just don't want to get bent forward in the process because I am a newbie. Thanks.

Jim
Wetstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 01:16 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

I’m not too sure they can be recharged. Have you tried calling a local RV shop?
BirchyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 01:37 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

I’ve an acquaintance who sometimes camps in our group. He has a residential hvac business. I’ve heard him say he has installed taps to add Freon to rv ac units, if I recall correctly.
RodneynDawnT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 02:47 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

Wow... They may be 'sealed' — 'till they leak. 'Hope not. Bircher, I called here first figuring there's been plenty of people who have been-thru-it.

Jim
Old 08-09-2018, 03:31 PM   #5
2016 Winnebago Navion 24J

Wetstuff, it is possible to recharge by soldering on new fill ports. The factory fills them to specs, then crimps the line, and cuts off the fitting. If it needs a charge it will probably be cheaper to buy a new unit with more efficiency and capacity, because if it lost freon something needs to be repaired/replaced.
MrMarog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 04:40 PM   #6
Winnebago Master

I'm beginning to like my basement air even more.
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 05:00 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner

I loved our basement air, now that we have ducted roof a/c I am so disappointed with the noise level.