Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-23-2021, 09:29 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Water Heater Air Shutter catching fire

Im new to the rv life ive got a 1994 winnebago adventurer chevy and i recently just lit the WH pilot for the first time last night and while the size of the flame surprised me ive read that its fairly normal however my Air Shutter kept catching fire and im not sure what to do about that as itll burn the wires in the control box if left on. Any ideas as to what the issue is and how to fix it?
RyanSargent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 11:38 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I am NOT a pro. I replaced pilot light assembly on mine because lines were clogged with rust and wouldn’t light.

POSSIBLY on yours the orifice is to large and letting too much gas through. Extremely dangerous. Who tinkered with it before you?

If you don’t know or have doubts call in a professional. It is not worth the risk.

In my case I had a good idea of what the issue was and I KNEW what the fix was.
My furnace was a different story… I paid a pro to come and service it. Money well spent and peace of mind ( for my wife that it wouldn’t blow up…)
83Itasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 11:57 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Owners manual will help with unit ID and standard operating procedure with maybe a little trouble shooting. Your trouble sounds more serious.
I’m leaving a lot unsaid. I don’t always listen to sound advice
Old 10-24-2021, 01:54 AM   #4
Winnebago Watcher

Thank you so much what kind of professional would you recommend like i said im new at this so im not sure if i call a plumber or?
RyanSargent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 03:49 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanSargent View Post