Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-28-2021, 05:38 PM   #1
Richandaddie

Norcold Ice Maker

First off sorry if this is in an older thread but I am new to this blog and a new owner of a Winnebago. We have a 2015 Itasca Sunova and just spent a long weekend on a shakedown trip to make sure everything worked. Everything has been fine except suddenly our ice maker stopped making ice. The fridge and the freezer are working fine, water supply and electric on shore power OK, the ice maker bar is in the down position but nothing is happening. We had ice for the first 2 days but now it has stopped completely. Our Fridge is a Norelco 1211IM. I read that this could be an issue with the solenoid or just the whole ice maker might need replacing. Is the solenoid part of the main assembly or something separate that I could access? Looking for some troubleshooting tips here.
richbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 03:51 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

The solenoid is on the rear of the frig. you can get to it through the outside panel. Make sure you have power going to the solenoid, you could have a problem with the control board thats also on the back of the frig.
be happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 06:30 PM   #3
Richandaddie

Thanks!

Do you have any advice on how to test the solenoid, assuming I can find it from the outside of the coach. Sorry for dumb question. This is all new to me!
Old 03-31-2021, 08:41 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Testing a solenoid is pretty easy but does often take a bit of thought and the correct meter.
Sounds like it may be something you are not familiar with so maybe some explanation first? Sorry if I'm telling you things you already know but there are apt to be others who may not, so here is the short course!